skip to Main Content
Primary Election Is Tuesday, Candidates Running For Various Offices Across Hickory Metro

Primary Election Is Tuesday, Candidates Running For Various Offices Across Hickory Metro

Primary election day is Tuesday (May 17) and there are races of local, state, and national interest on the ballots in all of the Hickory Metro counties.

The contest for Mayor in the City of Hickory is on the ballot, it was postponed from last November as a result of late census data. Incumbent Hank Guess will be running against Quentae Hill and Al Hoover. The top two move on to a second election in July to determine Hickory’s Mayor.

In Catawba County, there are five candidates on the Republican ballot for County Commissioner. The top three move on to the November election. Those candidates are Randy Isenhower, Cole Setzer, Ronn Abernathy, Robert Abernethy, Jr., and Sherry Butler. No candidates are running in the primary on the Democrat ticket.

In addition, there are two Republican candidates for Clerk of Superior Court, Patty Cook and Kim Sigmon. The winner will run unopposed in November. The North Carolina House of Representatives District 89 Seat will be contested on the republican ballot by Benjamine Devine, Kelli Moore, and Mitchell Setzer. The winner runs unopposed in November.

Catawba County’s ballot also has candidates for Long View Mayor and Town of Long View Alderman Wards 2 and 5, U.S. House of Representatives District 10, and North Carolina Supreme Court and Court of Appeals judicial candidates.

In Burke County, the Republican Sheriff’s race will pit Richard Epley and Banks Hinceman with the winner running unopposed in November. Steve Whisenant is not running for another term as Burke County Sheriff. There are also candidates for County Commissioner and Clerk of Superior Court on the Republican ballot.

In Caldwell County, the Republican ballot includes candidates for Board of Commissioners, Board of Education, and Clerk of Superior Court. Alexander County’s Republican ballot includes a race for the Board of Commissioners unexpired term pitting Justin Deal and Kent Herman.

For full details on your county’s Republican and Democrat candidates in Tuesday’s primary election go to your local Board of Elections website. The polls open at 6:30 a.m. Tuesday and close at 7:30 p.m. WHKY Radio and TV and will have election coverage Tuesday night. Radio and web coverage will begin shortly after the polls close and Ralph Mangum will have a live update on WHKY-TV News at 10 p.m.