skip to Main Content
Loans Available For Area Farmers Affected By November Tropical Storm

Loans Available For Area Farmers Affected By November Tropical Storm

USDA Farm Service Agency emergency loans are available to Alexander County farmers affected by Tropical Storm Eta. On March 3, 2021, President Joe Biden declared a major disaster in the State of North Carolina based on damages and losses caused by Tropical Storm Eta that occurred November 12-15, 2020. FEMA announced on March 4 that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of North Carolina to supplement state and local recovery efforts.

As a result, 19 North Carolina counties, including Alexander County, are eligible for federal disaster assistance which includes Farm Service (FSA) emergency loans for eligible family farmers. The primary disaster counties include Alexander, Burke, Caldwell and Iredell among others.

In accordance with the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, eligible family farmers in 41 adjacent counties may qualify for FSA emergency loan assistance. These counties include Catawba, Lincoln, and Watauga. Eligible family farmers should contact the local Farm Service Agency (FSA) at (828) 632-2044, which transfers directly to the Iredell County office located at 444 Bristol Drive in Statesville.

In addition, Alexander County Government staff encourages citizens, businesses, non-profits, and others to apply for assistance through the State of North Carolina Individual Assistance program, which provides state-funded grants to those affected by the flooding. Applications will be taken via telephone at 919-825-2378 or email