skip to Main Content
THe Lenoir-Rhyne Women's Triathlon team (center) wins the national championships.
photo courtesy of Thomas Fernandez/for USA Triathlon

Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Triathlon Wins NCAA D2 National Title for the Second Straight Year

For the second straight season, the Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Triathlon won the NCAA Division 2 National Championship in Arizona.

The Bears took home first, fourth, and sixth place in the individual standings. Sabrina Fleig won the individual event for all of NCAA Division 2, coming in at 1:04:35.6. Her time was ninth best overall of all of the NCAA competitors, regardless of division. Fleig finished second last year and fifth overall. She bested her time from last year’s event by just over three minutes.

Freshman Zoila Sicilia finished second for the Bears with a fourth place finish (30th overall).

Eliska Rihova and Claudia Teran placed sixth and eighth, respectively. Lenoir-Rhyne coach Harley Mason was named DII coach of the year.

Last year’s individual champion from Wingate University, Julia Kekkonen (Finland), placed second overall, while Colorado Mesa University’s Shannon Feran (Broomfield, Colo.) took third for the second consecutive year.

Wingate finished second in the team standings and Colorado Mesa placed third.

In their first season as a program in 2021, LR placed third at Nationals. The Bears are now back-to-back national champions in 2022 and 2023.