skip to Main Content
Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Tennis Lose, Men Win At Tusculum
Rhodri Atkinson becomes the second Bear in this spring season to earn the SAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, joining men's golf's Matthew Raybould.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Tennis Lose, Men Win at Tusculum

Lenoir-Rhyne Tennis traveled to Tusculum on Monday afternoon to continue SAC play, and earned a split with the Pioneers. The men won 6-1, and the women fell 5-2.

Winners for the men were Rhodri Atkinson and Josh Lazenby at No. 1 doubles 6-3, along with Patrik Alvestrand and Lewis Scott at No. 3 doubles 6-4.

In singles, Atkinson won 6-1, 3-0 at No. 1, Lazenby came out on top 6-2, 6-3 at No. 2, and Scott won 8-6 at No. 3. Also victorious for the Bears in singles were Zachary Cox at No. 4 6-3, 6-2, and Mauricio Hernandez at No. 6 6-2, 6-4.

For the women, the Bears got the doubles point behind the strength of Gemma Southwick and Lucy Whelan in a tiebreaker at No. 1 (7-6 (7-5)), and Evgeniya Pugina & Sandy Mitsou and No. 3 (6-3). Pugina was the lone victor in singles for the Bears at No. 2, 6-2, 6-4.

The Bears are back in action on Friday at home against Limestone.