skip to Main Content
Elin Hansson
Elin Hansson was named Region Player of the Year.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Soccer Sends Five to All-Region Team

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association announced its Women’s Soccer All-Southeast Region Team on Tuesday. Sophomore Elin Hansson headlined the group with being named Southeast Region Player of the Year while five LR players were named to both the First and Second Teams.

Hansson becomes the second Region Player of the Year in program history joining Catherine Hauck, who won the award in 2011. Hansson has scored 15 goals in her second season in Hickory with the addition of 11 assists for 41 total points, which is good for fifth most in a single season in all-time program history.

Senior midfielder Neve Duston, Senior back Ria Acton and Freshman back Ella Garner joined Hansson among the Southeast Region’s first team honorees. Junior midfielder Evan O’Leary received second team accolades.

Duston, a senior from Palm City, Fla., scored eight goals on the season for the Bears while Acton added five goals on the year. Acton’s also recorded 13 assists on the season, which is fifth most in all of Division II. Garner anchored the backline that only allowed seven goals during the regular season. O’Leary rounded out the team with her six goals and four assists on the season.

The Bears will be back in action on Friday, Dec. 1 at 3:00 p.m. from Melbourne, Fla. in the NCAA Division II Regional Final against Catawba.

2023 Division 2 Conference Commissioners Association (D2 CCA) Women’s Soccer All-Southeast Region Team

First Team
GK Katrine Thisgaard Wingate
F Elin Hansson Lenoir-Rhyne
F Mercy Bell UNC Pembroke
F Andrea Fernandez Flagler
F Emma Beddow Columbus State
MF Syndey Jimmo Catawba
MF Caroline Peters Wingate
MF Neve Duston Lenoir-Rhyne
MF Anna Grossheim UNC Pembroke
D Ria Acton Lenoir-Rhyne
D Brooke Ouimette Columbus State
D Sascha Larsen Wingate
D Ella Garner Lenoir-Rhyne

Second Team Pos Name School Yr. Hometown
GK Lizzie Hedrick Columbus State
F Hannah Dunn Catawba .
F Logan Parry Belmont Abbey
F Amiah Sprunger-Hightower Clayton State .
F Bree Ehmer Catawba
MF Sarah Hungerford Columbus State .
MF Evan O’Leary Lenoir-Rhyne
MF Moa Arlebo Flagler
MF Reagan Cullen Belmont Abbey
D Mia Muckenthaler Belmont Abbey
D Mia Piazza Lander
D Alexah Fite Catawba
D Elainee Sprinkle North Greenville .

Southeast Region Player of the Year: Elin Hansson (So. – F, Lenoir-Rhyne University)