skip to Main Content
Ria Acton
Ria Acton is a first team preseason all-conference selection after being named last year as an All-American, two all-region teams and conference first team honors.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Soccer Picked Second in SAC Preseason Poll

The Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Soccer team was picked to finish 2nd in the South Atlantic Conference Preseason Coaches Poll announced Tuesday. Catawba, was selected to finish first while picking up 11 of the 12 first-place votes while the Bears picked up the remaining first place vote.

The Bears are coming off their first ever final four appearance last year where they lost to the eventual national champion Grand Valley State in the National Semifinal. LR also will come into the season ranked No. 4 in the country in the Unite Soccer Coaches (USC) national preseason poll, the program highest rank ever.

In addition, the Bears had six players selected to the Preseason All-Conference Team including four players on the first team.

Ria Acton, a 2021 Conference Commissioners Association All-American is joined by sophomores Leonie Proessi, Evan O’Leary and Vivien Becker Peralta on the preseason first team. Stephanie Figueiredo was selected to the preseason second team and Neve Duston was selected to the third team.

The Bears will open their season on the road at Lees-McRae on August 27 before their home opener against No. 18 Florida Tech, a rematch of the National Quarterfinal game from last postseason, where the Bears advanced on penalty kicks.



Rank School (First Place Votes) Points
1. Catawba (11) 121
2. Lenoir-Rhyne (1) 111
3. Carson-Newman 98
4. Wingate 92
5. Limestone 82
6. Lincoln Memorial 69
7. Newberry 61
8. Anderson 51
9. Tusculum 44
10. Coker 27
11. Mars Hill 25
12. Emory & Henry 11

2022 SAC Women’s Soccer Preseason All-Conference
First Team
F – Hannah Dunn, Catawba
F – Helen Summerell, Catawba
F – Leonie Proessl, Lenoir-Rhyne
F – Alicia Rubio Garcia, Wingate
MF – Sydney Jimmo, Catawba
MF – Kasey Hahn, Catawba
MF – Sharon Mayes, Catawba
MF – Evan O’Leary, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Katie Beck, Catawba
D – Ria Acton, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Sascha Larsen, Wingate
D – Vivien Becker Peralta, Lenoir-Rhyne
GK – Sierra Davis, Catawba

Second Team
F – Nellie Bryneus, Carson-Newman
F – Addie Henry, Carson-Newman
F – Brianna Garcia, Tusculum
F – Kyara Vanheuverswijn, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Sydnee Duncan, Carson-Newman
MF – Caroline Peters, Wingate
MF – Tabea Schutt, Limestone
MF – Stephanie Figueiredo, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Katie Webb, Catawba
D – Amanda Chimbima, Limestone
D – Jente Kuper, Carson-Newman
D – Courtney Velazquez, Newberry
GK – Jeanette Campbell, Anderson

Third Team
F – Camilla Dobraniecki, Emory & Henry
MF – Neve Duston, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Bailey Bylotas, Tusculum
MF – Merel Houweling, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Jess Lafrancis, Wingate
D – Nicole Cristy, Wingate
D – Sarah Miller, Anderson
D – Sydney Wolfenbarger, Lincoln Memorial
D – Megan Snider, Lincoln Memorial
GK – Bente Latenstein, Lincoln Memorial