skip to Main Content
Elin Hansson
Elin Hansson was named Region Player of the Year.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Soccer Earns Number One Seed

For the first time in program history, the Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Soccer Team earned the No. 1 seed in the Southeast Region and will host the First and Second Rounds of the NCAA Tournament. This will be the 10th all-time NCAA Tournament appearance for Lenoir-Rhyne and fourth straight. All 10 appearances have come since 2010.

The Bears earned the top seed in the region by winning the SAC Regular Season and Conference Tournament. The Bears topped Catawba 2-1 in the regular season finale to clinch that crown and bested the Indians in PK’s of the Conference Tournament final to earn that title. LR boasts the league’s Offensive Player of the Year (Elin Hansson), Defensive Player of the Year (Ria Acton) and Coach of the Year (Dean Ward).

The Bears are set to host Carson-Newman in the First Round. Columbus St. and Flagler will also play at Hickory on Friday with the winners of those games meeting on Sunday at LR.

Southeast Region
1) Lenoir-Rhyne
2) Catawba
3) North Georgia
4) Columbus St.
5) Flagler
6) Wingate
7) UNC Pembroke
8) Carson-Newman