skip to Main Content
Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Lacrosse Earns Five To All-Conference Teams
Cassie Lafler earned all-conference this season, for the fourth time in her career.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Lacrosse Earns Five to All-Conference Teams

For the fourth time in her career, Lenoir-Rhyne’s Cassie Lafler has been named All-Conference and was one of five Bears to earn All-Conference honors. Lafler was named a First Team All-SAC player for the second time in her career.

A graduate student from Penn Yan, N.Y., Lafler finished the year with 24 caused turnovers and added a team-high 45 ground balls. Lafler was named the South Atlantic Conference Defensive Player of the Week in the final week of the regular season and wraps up her career with 83 caused turnovers which ranks her second in team history.

Suzy Smith, Jolan Morey and Isabelle Dunnam were all named to the Second Team. Smith led the Bears with 51 goals and 66 points on the year and is just five goals shy of reaching 100 for her career. Smith was an honorable mention selection in 2021. Morey earns her first all-league honor after dishing out a team-high 35 assists and adding 29 goals. Dunnam earns her second All-SAC selection after being a second teamer in 2021 as well. Dunnam set the LR record with 47 caused turnovers this season, shattering the previous high of 34 set by Claire Wach in 2014. Dunnam also tied the single-game record for caused turnovers with seven against Newberry.

Rounding out the selections is goalie Teanna Sieben who earned Third Team accolades. Sieben set the single-game record for saves with 19 against Young Harris and also had 18 against Lee giving her two of the top three single-game performances in that category in team history. Sieben finished second in the league with 197 saves on the year.

2022 SAC Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference

All-SAC First Team
A – Rebecca Kinsley, Queens
A – Elizabeth Muscella, Limestone
A – Ali Van Der Ziel, Lincoln Memorial
A – Kaitlyn Hardin, Queens

MF – Leah Knowles, Wingate
MF – Kyleigh Masteran, Queens
MF – Becca Ruiz, Wingate
MF – Sarah Dudick, Limestone

D – Grace Guglielmo, Queens
D – Bailey Stumpf, Limestone
D – Erin Smith, UVA Wise
D – Cassie Lafler, Lenoir-Rhyne

GK – Aryn Dorr, Catawba

All-SAC Second Team
A – Suzy Smith, Lenoir-Rhyne
A – Bella Pellet, Wingate
A – Jolan Morey, Lenoir-Rhyne
A – Cassell Richardson, Newberry

MF – Chloe Wood, Newberry
MF – Shannon Kingston, Queens
MF – Sydney Bracken, Queens
MF – Avery Van Der Ziel, Lincoln Memorial

D – Isabelle Dunnam, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Emily Phipps, Wingate
D – Madalyn Messersmith, Newberry
D – Erin Young, Catawba

GK – Megan Biase, Wingate

All-SAC Third Team
A – Carson Giordano, Queens
A – Tia Tuininga, Tusculum
A – Paige Kamer, Wingate
A – Katie Allen, UVA Wise

MF – Shannon Donovan, Queens
MF – Sydney Joyce, Mars Hill
MF – Grace Golatt, UVA Wise
MF – Mallory Trimble, UVA Wise

D – Delaney Duck, Lincoln Memorial
D – Avery McMullin, Queens
D – Maren Lawrence, Limestone
D – Kaylee mia Geist, Queens

GK – Teanna Sieben, Lenoir-Rhyne

Offensive Player of the Year
Leah Knowles, Wingate

Defensive Player of the Year
Aryn Dorr, Catawba

Freshman of the Year
Cassell Richardson, Newberry

Coach of the Year
Abby Wiley, Wingate