skip to Main Content
Blaikley Crooks
Freedom High School grad Blaikley Crooks is a first team all-conference selection.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Basketball Snags Three to All-Conference Team

For just the ninth time in program history, the Lenoir-Rhyne women’s basketball team surpassed 20 wins. With that success, Blaikley Crooks, Emily Harman and Mikeba Jones were picked to the All-Conference team with Crooks earning a first team selection, Harman garnering second team honors and Jones being named to the third team. This marks the third straight season that LR has placed at least two players on the all league team.

Crooks, a senior from Morganton, N.C., named to the first team for the second straight season. Crooks scored her 1,000th career point this season as the senior surpass the 1200 career point mark this season. Crooks has averaged 16.0 points per game and 4.7 rebounds in her fourth year in Hickory. Crooks has nine 20-points game this season including a season-high 25 points against Lander on November 12th, 2023.

Harman, a senior from Chesapeake, Va., was named to the second team for the third straight season. Harman scored her 1,400th career point this season as she averaged 14.3 points this season. Harman added a career best 116 assists while adding four rebounds per game. Harman had a season best 24 points in a victory over #24 Anderson on February 7th inside Shuford Arena.

Jones, a senior from Front Wayne, Ind. was named to her first all-conference team as she was named to the third team. Jones scored 12.4 points per game while adding 6.5 rebounds per game. Jones had four double-doubles on the season including a 21-point, 12 rebound game at Emory & Henry on February 24th.

Bears will open postseason play with a SAC Tournament as LR is the No. 2 seed and will play Coker on Tuesday at 2:30 pm from Rock Hill, S.C.

2023-24 South Atlantic Conference Women’s Basketball All-Conference

First Team
Blaikley Crooks, Lenoir-Rhyne
Emily Hege, Wingate
Diamond McDowell, Anderson
Lindsey Taylor, Carson-Newman
Lyrik Thorne, Catawba
Braelyn Wykle, Carson-Newman

Second Team
Hannah Clark, Wingate
Janiya Downs, Catawba
Lauren Flowers, Lincoln Memorial
Emily Harman, Lenoir-Rhyne
Zamiya Passmore, Anderson
Caitlyn Ross, Virginia-Wise

Third Team
Maddie Gillie, Mars Hill
Kalisha Hill, Limestone
Mikeba Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne
Jordan Maney, Lincoln Memorial
Sara McIntosh, Catawba
Breanna Yarber, Emory & Henry

Trinity Breedlove, Wingate
Ni’Kiah Chesterfield, Tusculum
Gracyn Hall, Emory & Henry
Tateyoina Harris, Mars Hill
Kamari Thompson, Coker

Player of the Year
Lyrik Thorne, Catawba

Newcomer of the Year
Zamiya Passmore, Anderson

Freshman of the Year
Kamari Thompson, Coker

Defensive Player of the Year
Lyrik Thorne, Catawba

Coach of the Year
Terence McCutcheon, Catawba

Statistical Champions
Points Per Game – Lyrik Thorne, Catawba; 20.2
Three-Pointers Per Game – Maddie Gillie, Mars Hill; 3.28
Rebounds Per Game – Kamari Thompson, Coker; 11.6
Blocked Shots Per Game – Tateyoina Harris, Mars Hill; 2.04
Field Goal Percentage – Lindsey Taylor, Carson-Newman; 62.9
Assists Per Game – Zamiya Passmore, Anderson; 6.6
Assist-to-Turnover Ratio – Tori Rutherford, Carson-Newman; 2.32
Steals Per Game – Dasia Lambert, Coker; 2.58
Three-Point Field Goal Percentage – Emily Hege, Wingate; 50.8
Free Throw Percentage – Hannah Clark, Wingate; 92.2
Team Scoring Offense – Anderson; 78.1
Team Steals Per Game – Carson-Newman; 12
Team Field Goal Percentage – Anderson; 43.8
Team FG Percentage Defense – Carson-Newman; 37.2
Team Assists Per Game – Carson-Newman; 18.4
Team Rebounds Per Game – Mars Hill; 43.48
Team Blocks Per Game – Carson-Newman; 4.7
Team Three-Point FG Percentage – Wingate; 41.5
Team Scoring Defense – Lenoir-Rhyne; 61
Team Free Throw Percentage – Wingate; 81.1
Team Assist-to-Turnover Ratio – Carson-Newman; 1.20