skip to Main Content
Lenoir-Rhyne Women And Men Track And Field Teams Win LR Outdoor Open
Maigan Bowman won the high jump competition with a 1.60 meter leap.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Women and Men Track and Field Teams Win LR Outdoor Open

For the second home meet in a row, both Lenoir-Rhyne Track and Field teams dominated their home track. The Bear women won the LR Outdoor Open with 176 points (2nd place Belmont Abbey had 84.50 points), and the men scored 208.50 total points to win the team event by 86 points over 2nd place Catawba. The women’s 4×100 team set a new school record, as did the men’s 4×400 team. Melody Jones also broke her own school record in the long jump, and Jordan Shealey broke the school record in the 200 meters. Jacob Wadsworth broke the 14-year-old school record in the 400 meter dash, and ran an NCAA Provisional time in the event.

Marlesia Walker continued her strong outdoor season with a second place finish in the shot put with a mark of 11.86 meters.
Lacey Triplett and Pearl Ballard took first and second respectively in the pole vault, both clearing 3.10 meters.
Melody Jones was second in the long jump with a jump of 5.78 meters, a personal record and the new school record by six inches. Jones breaks her own record in the event.
Maigan Bowman and Destiny Gayton were first and second respectively in the high jump, with Bowman clearing 1.60 meters and Gayton clearing 1.55 meters.
Holly Kone and Kennedy Conner were second and third respectively in the triple jump, with Kone leaping 11.73 meters and Conner jumping 11.28 meters.
The LR “A” team of Jordan Shealey, Emmanuella Kone, Holly Kone and Melody Jones took first in the 4×100 meter relay, clocking in at 46.60 seconds for a new school record.
Conner took second in the 100 meter hurdles, finishing in 14.87 seconds.
Emmanuella Kone and Melody Jones took third and fourth respectively in the 100 meter dash, with Kone running 11.872 seconds and Jones running 11.880 seconds. Both of those times for the freshmen tie the existing school record.
Triplett, Araceli Espinoza and Miranda Marr were 4th-6th in the 400 meter hurdles.
Shealey took third in the 200 meter dash (24.66 seconds), a new school record and a new personal best for her.
The 4×400 team of Shealey, Holly Kone, Taylor Meadows and Kara Gavaghan won the event with a time of 3:58.54.
Ellis Horton won the discus with a throw of 45.49 meters.
Dalton Hatley won the shot put with a throw of 14.51 meters, and teammate Josh Wise took third with a throw of 13.62 meters.
The Bears took the top three spots in the pole vault, with Mike Karicher winning (4.50 meters), Oliver Thatcher finishing second (4.35 meters), and Daniel Nicholson finishing third (4.35 meters).
Jacob Wadsworth won the long jump with a leap of 7.38 meters. Thatcher also took third with a jump of 6.62 meters.
The 4×100 team of Royce Turner Jr., Jordan Payne, Lucas Besong and Philip Stomne took second in the event with a time of 41.73 seconds.
Stomne also won the 110 meter hurdles with a time of 14.99 seconds.
Wadsworth, Besong and John Sisson finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th respectively in the 400 meter dash. Wadsworth ran 47.75 seconds, which broke the existing school record that’s stood since 2008, and is also an NCAA provisional qualifying time. Besong ran 48.17 seconds, and Sisson ran 48.23 seconds.
Dario Matau took second in the 100 meter dash with a time of 10.57 seconds. He lost by .01 seconds.
Stomne grabbed another second place finish in the 400 meter hurdles with a time of 56.95 seconds.
The Bears grabbed the top three spots in the 200 meters, with Trent Davis II taking first (20.93 seconds), Marlin Davis taking second (21.04 seconds), and Matau taking third (21.27 seconds).
Connor Orr and Jacob Marsh took first and second respectively in the 3000 meter run. Orr ran 10:24.36 and Marsh ran 10:38.61.
The 4×400 meter team of Besong, Sisson, Marlin Davis and Wadsworth won with a time of 3:12.61 seconds, a new school record.
UP NEXT: The Bears will compete in the 2022 SAC Championships on May 5-6 at Anderson.