skip to Main Content
Kayana Taylor
Kayana Taylor, a South Caldwell grad, won two events for the Bears.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Swimming Teams Pick Up Wins

The Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Swimming Team returned home to start the new year as the Bears swept a tri-meet with visiting Emory & Henry and Converse. The Bears won 10 of 14 events on the night inside Shuford Pool. Lisa Boernigen, Elizabeth Bowman and South Caldwell grad Kayana Taylor each won two events in the sweep.

The Bears got the night going with a win in the 200 medley relay. The team of Boernigen, Katherine Hudson, Ella Penny and Anna Gagnon won with a time of 1:53.65. The team of Taylor, Bowman, Grayson Breedlove and Anna Harshaw finished just behind for a second-place finish.

Boernigen then got the Bears going in the individual heats with a win in the 100 backstroke with a time of 1:02.18. Boernigen then won the 200 breaststroke later in the evening with her time of 2:30.08.

Bowman then won back-to-back events in the freestyle. Bowman took home the 50m (25.85) and 100m (55.74). Taylor won the 200 fly with a seven second win as Taylor finished with a time of 2:13.93 then won the 200 IM later in the evening with a time of 2:17.30.

Hudson and Penny were also winners in the sweep of SAC foe Emory & Henry and Converse on Friday night. Hudson won the 200 back with a time of 2:21.08 and Penny won the 500 free with a time of 5:26.89.

Lenoir-Rhyne then completed the sweep with a win in the 200 free relay to close the event. Boernigen, Bowman, Penny and Taylor had a three second win as the Bears beat Emory Henry 156-102 and Converse 176-82.

On the men’s side, Christopher Glebus won two events and Micah McRea won three events as the Bears defeated visiting Emory & Henry 166-94 Friday night inside Shuford Pool. The Bears won eleven of fourteen events on the night.

Glebus won the 100 free with a narrow victory with a 49.53 time but Glebus then enjoyed a nine second victory later in the night in the 200 IM. Glebus finished the heat with a time of 2:04.30.

McRea finished first in the 200 fly (1:56.68), 200 back (1:56.91) and 100 fly (52.84) as the senior won at least three events for the fourth time this season.

Other LR winners were Cordin Schrum in the 200 free with a time of 1:53.86. Nathan McCormick was victorious with a 1:04.32 in the 100 breast. Christopher Forsey won in the 200 breast with his time of 2:21.25 and Owen Schreiber in the 500 free with a six second win as Schreiber finished with a time of 5:06.40.

LR won both relay as well on the evening. Bears open the event with a win in the 200 medley relay as Glebus, McCormick, McRea and Matthew Stein finished with a time of 1:39.10. Then McCormick joined Cooper Sledge, Davis Hull and Forsey to win the 200 free to end the night.

Both Lenoir-Rhyne squads will return to the pool as they travel to Queens next Friday.