skip to Main Content
Lenoir-Rhyne Swimming Teams Open Season
Micah McRea won three events on the day
Photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Swimming Teams Open Season

The Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Swimming Team opened up the 2020-21 season with a tri-meet at UNC Asheville on Saturday afternoon. The Bears fell to a pair of Division I programs, losing to the host Bulldogs 211-50 and to Gardner-Webb 181-78.

Kimberly Scheiber grabbed the Bears top finish, a second-place result in the 200 yard breaststroke. Scheiber finished the even with a time of 2:32.08, less than a second behind Amelia Ham of UNC Asheville. Sarah Helfert took home fourth place in the 1000 yard freestyle, finishing the grueling event in 11:14.48. Helfert also finished fourth in the 500 yard freestyle. Lisa Boernigen took home fourth in the 200 yard butterfly and 100 yard butterfly for the Bears.

In their first action of the season, the Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Swimming Team fell against Gardner-Webb 163-97 on Saturday afternoon.

The first event of the day was the 200 yard medley relay that saw LR post a strong second place finish. The team of Jacob Greene, Jacob Queen, John Ryan and Spencer Ashby finished with a time of 1:37.04. In total, three LR relay teams competed in the event.

Alex Ballard would claim the first first-place finish of the afternoon for the Bears, winning the 200 yard freestlye with an impressive time of 1:45.30. Alex Murphy finished third in the event and Connor Greene took home sixth.

Jacob Greene would earn a top finish in the 100 yard breaststroke, claiming the top time (52.05).

Sophomore standout Micah McRea earned the first of his three first-place finishes in the 50 yard freestlye as he touched in 21.35. McRea would follow that up with a victory in the 100 yard freestyle with a time of 47.60 and a win in the 200 yard IM in 1:56.76.

Ballard would grab his second top finish in the 500 yard freestlye with a time of 4:51.14.

Lenoir-Rhyne returns to the pool on Saturday when they host Lees-McRae inside Shuford Pool at 1 p.m.