skip to Main Content
Devin Poteat and Christopher Foresy
Devin Poteat (L) and Christopher Foresy (R)
photos courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Sweeps South Atlantic Conference Swimmer of the Week Awards

The South Atlantic Conference announced its WePlayed Sports Swimmers of the Week for meets competed in during the tenth week of the 2023-24 season. Lenoir-Rhyne swept the weekly honors, as Devin Poteat was named the Women’s Swimmer of the Week while Christopher Forsey was named the Men’s Swimmer of the Week.

Poteat, a sophomore from Denver, N.C., recorded four first-place finishes in the 137-84 win over Chowan on Saturday. She earned two individual victories in the 100 and 200 breaststroke events with times of 1:10.77 and 2:30.90 and was a member of the winning 400 Individual Medley Relay and 400 Freestyle Relay.

Forsey, a sophomore from Concord, N.C., led the Bears to a 133-102 victory over Chowan on Saturday. He collected four first-place finishes on the week, tallying up two individual wins in the 200 Freestyle (1:51.17) and the 200 Breaststroke (2:18.43) and two relay victories in the 400 Medley and 400 Freestyle relays.


2023 SAC Swimmers of the Week


Oct. 11 – Natalia Dwojak, Wingate

Oct. 18 – Marit Reckmann, Catawba

Oct. 25 – Maria Jose Orozco, Mars Hill

Nov. 1 – Maria Jose Orozco, Mars Hill

Nov. 8 – Nina Azirovic, Wingate

Nov. 20 – Fiona Byrne, Catawba

Dec. 5 – Nina Azirovic, Wingate

Dec. 12 – Maria Tirulli, Carson-Newman

Jan. 9 – Marit Reckmann, Catawba

Jan. 16 – Devin Poteat, Lenoir-Rhyne



Oct. 11 – Thomas Gibson, Mars Hill

Oct. 18 – Maks Minichowski, Catawba

Oct. 25 – Andres Bodington, Mars Hill

Nov. 1 – Manoel Silva, Wingate

Nov. 8 – Damir Ipkaev, Wingate

Nov. 20 – Maks Minichowski, Catawba

Dec. 5 – Miguel Marcos, Wingate

Dec. 12 – Levi McRea, Lenoir-Rhyne

Jan. 9 – Maks Minichowski, Catawba

Jan. 16 – Christopher Forsey, Lenoir-Rhyne


WePlayed Sports is an official corporate partner of the South Atlantic Conference and title sponsor of the Conference’s Player of the Week awards program.