skip to Main Content
Lenoir-Rhyne Softball Place Three On All-Region First Team
Kylee Leonhardt is the first Lenoir-Rhyne softball player to be named All-American twice.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Softball Place Three on All-Region First Team

The National Fastpitch Coaches Association has revealed the 2022 NFCA Division II All-Region teams. This year’s squads are comprised of 206 student-athletes from 105 programs. Lenoir-Rhyne placed three (Lauren Rakes, Kylee Leonhardt and Savannah Moorefield) on the First Team All-Southeast Region.

This trio gives Lenoir-Rhyne 75 All-Southeast Region selections under Shena Hollar (since 2000). Leonhardt was an NFCA First Team All-Region in 2021 and a Second Teamer in 2019 making this her third All-Region nod. Rakes and Moorefield earn the distinction for the first time in their careers.

The awards honor softball student-athletes from the Association’s eight regions with first and second-team selections. NFCA member head coaches from each respective region nominated their student-athletes and voted on the teams. All the honorees are now eligible for selection to the 2022 NFCA Division II All-America squads.

Conference players and pitchers of the year from member institutions (must be nominated by member head coach and receive votes) are added to the second team if they were not already voted to an All-Region squad. Additionally, in some instances, limited regional nominations prevented a position from being filled.

The 2022 NFCA Division II All-America teams will be announced on Wednesday, May 25.

NFCA First Team All-Region
P- Laken Maxwell, Anderson University (SC)
P – Lauren Rakes, Lenoir-Rhyne University
P – Emma Frost, Lincoln Memorial University
C – Kylee Leonhardt , Lenoir-Rhyne University
1B – Kayson Boatner, Anderson University (SC)
2B – Emily Harris, Carson-Newman University
3B – Kylie Emanuele, University of Mount Olive
SS – Leah Sohm, Carson-Newman University
OF – Savannah Moorefield, Lenoir-Rhyne University
OF – Courtlynn Cooney, University of Mount Olive
OF – SieAnna Cameron, Carson-Newman University
UT/P – Hannah Rose Corbin, Columbus State University
DP or UT/Non-P – Rikkelle Miller, King University