skip to Main Content
Lani Warren
Lani Warren was named first team all-conference.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Softball Place Six on All-Conference Team

The Lenoir-Rhyne Softball team was well represented on the SAC All-Conference team as the conference announced their 2024 All-SAC Teams as six different Bears was selected to this year team. Lani Warren was named to the SAC first-team while Julia Mardigian, Katelyn Rackard, Lauren Rakes and Madison Wilson was selected to the second team while Lora Beth Wood earned third team honors.

Warren, a Freshman from Forest City, N.C. was selected to the first-team catcher as Warren hit .368 with 9 homeruns and 35 RBIs during her first campaign in Hickory. Warren had 12 multi-hit games including seven three-hit games this season.

Mardigian, a junior from Mechanicsville, Va., was named to the second-team second baseman as Mardigian has hit .448 with 11 homeruns and 55 RBIs this year. Maridigan currently tied the school record with 23 doubles in one single season. Mardigian had 27 multi-hit games this season.

Rackard, a junior from Lexington, N.C. garnered second team honors as the shortshop hit .367 with 4 homeruns and 25 RBIs this campaign.

Rakes, a graduate student from Hamptonville, N.C. was selected as the second team utility/non pitcher spot as the dual threat hit 13 homeruns and had 32 RBIs at the plate and had a 15-7 record in the circle and had 168 strikeouts in 136 2/3 innings this season.

Wilson, a freshman from Pine Hall, N.C. was selected as the second team pitcher as Wilson went 13-3 in the circle in her first season. WIlson added 92 strikeouts to go along with her 2.68 ERA.

Wood, a graduate student from Madison, N.C., was named third team first base as Wood hit .343 this season with 7 homeruns and 42 RBIs.

Bears now have had 150 SAC All-Conference selections in their program history.

2024 SAC Softball All-Conference

All-SAC First Team

OF – Kaylee Hobgood, Wingate
OF – Brianna Gallagher, Catawba
OF – Claire Smeltzer, Tusculum
1B – Kary Hales, Catawba
2B – Savanna Brooks, Wingate
SS – Hayden Dye, Carson-Newman
3B – Brooke Matyasovsky, Carson-Newman
DP – Carson Hobbs, Anderson
UTL/Non-P – Macey Hughes, Carson-Newman
UTL/P – Sydney Kale, Wingate
C – Lani Warren, Lenoir-Rhyne
P – Laken Maxwell, Anderson
P – Raechel Cutcher, Wingate

All-SAC Second Team

OF – Maddie Carpenter, Anderson
OF – Shelby Bandt, Anderson
OF – Kelsi Scott, Coker
1B – Sierra Brogdon, Newberry
2B – Julia Mardigian, Lenoir-Rhyne
SS – Katelyn Rackard, Lenoir-Rhyne
3B – Riley Tucker, Catawba
DP – Danielle Jason, Tusculum
UTL/Non-P – Danielle King, Emory & Henry
UTL/P – Lauren Rakes, Lenoir-Rhyne
C – Macauley Bailey, Carson-Newman
P – Emma Frost, Carson-Newman
P – Madison Wilson, Lenoir-Rhyne

All-SAC Third Team

OF – Madison Henry, Lincoln Memorial
OF – Vanessa Wilson, Newberry
OF – Leah Grimes, Mars Hill
1B – Lora Beth Wood, Lenoir-Rhyne
2B – Reese Vivrette, Lincoln Memorial
SS – Ellie Alvarez, Tusculum
3B – Hailey Hill, Newberry
DP – Cassidy Phelps, Newberry
UTL/Non-P – Hannah Bogoski, Lincoln Memorial
UTL/P – Emily Sappington, Tusculum
C – Maia Sholter, Mars Hill
P – Hali Scott, Wingate
P – Lex Glemaker, Newberry

Freshman of the Year
Paige Vickery, Anderson

Player of the Year
Savanna Brooks, Wingate

Pitcher of the Year
Laken Maxwell, Anderson

Coach of the Year
Jamie Stanclift, Wingate

{Information provided by Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics}