skip to Main Content
Morgan Beeler
Morgan Beeler earned three straight SAC Pitcher of the Week award during this season and four overall.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Softball Earns Eight to All-Conference Teams, Beeler Named Pitcher of the Year

The South Atlantic Conference announced its all-conference team this afternoon and eight Bears were selected to the 2023 All-SAC and Morgan Beeler was selected as the Pitcher of the Year for her performance in the circle this season.

Lenoir-Rhyne had six of the thirteen All-SAC First Team selections. Joining Beeler on the first team were Kaylan Brown, Talon LaClair, Katelyn Rackard, Lauren Rakes and Cassidy Wall. Julia Mardigian and Lora Beth Wood was named to the All-SAC Third Team to round out a SAC best eight selections for LR.

Beeler, a senior from Ocean Isle Beach, N.C., becomes the 9th pitcher in program history to win SAC pitcher of the year. Beeler led the SAC in wins (20), strikeouts (180) and saves (5) while finished second in ERA (2.01).

Brown, a freshman from Charlotte, N.C., earned her first all-conference honors as Brown was the everyday center fielder for the Bears. Brown hit .342 this season with two home runs and 17 RBIs.

LaClair, a graduate student from Statesville, N.C., garnered her third all-conference selection and her first at third base as LaClair hit .422 with 9 home runs and 33 RBIs this season. LaClair also hit for the cycle and had a program record 10 RBIs against Lincoln Memorial on April 17th.

Mardigian, a sophomore from Mechanicsville, VA., earned her second straight all-conference honors as the second baseman hit .345 with 5 HRs and 29 RBIs in her second year in Hickory.

Rackard, a sophomore from Lexington, N.C., is a first-time all-SAC selections as the second-year shortstop lead the team with a .440 average to go along with 9 home runs and 32 RBIs. Rackard also stole 15 bases this season.

Rakes, a senior from Hamptonville, N.C., earned her third all-conference honors as the utility/pitcher spot. Rakes went 9-4 with 121 strikeouts in 84 2/3 innings in the circle and also hit .330 with 9 home runs and 28 RBIs at the plate.

Wall, a sophomore from Davison, N.C., garner her second all-conference honors in two years as she hit .394 with 7 HRs and 31 RBIs in her sophomore campaign.

Wood, a senior from Madison, N.C., earned her first-all conference selection as the first baseman hit .429 with 9 HRs and 33 RBIs this season, which all are a career best for the senior.

The Bears are now preparing to host the SAC Tournament here in Hickory as the Bears will start their post season on Thursday against Limestone at 3:30 PM.

The entire 2023 SAC Softball All-Conference Teams can be found below:
All-SAC First Team
OF – SieAnna Cameron, Carson-Newman
OF – Cassidy Wall, Lenoir-Rhyne
OF – Kaylan Brown, Lenoir-Rhyne
1B – Kayson Boatner, Anderson
2B – Savanna Brooks, Wingate
SS – Katelyn Rackard, Lenoir-Rhyne
3B – Talon LaClair, Lenoir-Rhyne
DP – Macauley Bailey, Carson-Newman
UTL/Non-P – Macey Hughes, Carson-Newman
UTL/P – Lauren Rakes, Lenoir-Rhyne
C – McKenzie Henry, Lincoln Memorial
P – Morgan Beeler, Lenoir-Rhyne
P – Avery Adkins, Emory & Henry

All-SAC Second Team
OF – Kaylee Hobgood, Wingate
OF – Madison Henry, Lincoln Memorial
OF – Ariana Fair, Coker
1B – Santana Anderson, Limestone
2B – Carmen Holt, Carson-Newman
SS – Heaven Maness, Wingate
3B – Ragan Liles, Wingate
DP – Mackenzie Turner, Newberry
UTL/Non-P – Katie Wilbur, Limestone
UTL/P – Riley Tucker, Catawba
C – Molly Mattas, Newberry
P – Raechel Cutcher, Wingate
P – Olivia Chestnut, Newberry

All-SAC Third Team
OF – Leah Evans, Newberry
OF – Mackenzie Williams, Emory & Henry
OF – Kallyn Newport, Tusculum
1B – Lora Beth Wood, Lenoir-Rhyne
2B – Julia Mardigian, Lenoir-Rhyne
SS – Brianna Gallagher, Catawba
3B – Madison Chappell, Limestone
DP – Katie Tuggle, Lincoln Memorial
UTL/Non-P – Hannah Stevens, Wingate
UTL/P – Carson Hobbs, Anderson
C – Raelynn Kramer, Wingate
P – Alexandra Baquie, Catawba
P – Emma Frost, Lincoln Memorial

Freshman of the Year
Macauley Bailey, Carson-Newman

Player of the Year
Macauley Bailey, Carson-Newman

Pitcher of the Year
Morgan Beeler, Lenoir-Rhyne

Coach of the Year
Jamie Stanclift, Wingate