skip to Main Content
Runa Muderrisoglu
Runa Muderrisoglu went 10-2 in conference singles play and 9-3 in doubles.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Muderrisoglu Named SAC Freshman of the Year

The South Atlantic Conference announced its all-conference women’s tennis awards on Wednesday as Lenoir-Rhyne had one of its most decorated seasons in recent program history.

Runa Muderrisoglu, a native of Duzce, Turkey, was named the SAC Freshman of the Year after an overall singles record of 15-3 and overall doubles record of 13-5.

In conference play, Muderrisoglu had one of the best marks in the league with a 10-2 singles record in addition to her 9-3 doubles record. The freshman played most of her matches at the No. 1 singles and doubles positions of the ladder.

While Muderrisoglu was given the highest honor amongst the SAC freshman participants, she was also named the first team singles and first team doubles. Muderrisoglu was joined by Claudia Orsini for the doubles recognition; the duo went 11-5 on the season and a 9-3 record in conference play.

Joined alongside Muderrisoglu and Orsini in first team doubles were Alicia Wahlberg and Nellie Wahlberg, who served at the No. 2 position of the ladder for the majority of the season.

The sisters from Stockholm, Sweden, had an overall record of 15-2 alongside their conference record of 10-2. The duo ended the season on a six-match winning streak and won nine of their last 10 matches of the campaign.

In addition to the two making first team doubles, Alicia Wahlberg was named second team singles while Nellie Wahlberg was named third team singles.

Alicia Wahlberg, who is in her senior season, had a 16-2 overall record and a 10-2 record in SAC play. She picked up multiple wins at the No. 2 and No. 4 spots in the lineup, but most of her victories came at the No. 3 line with a 10-2 mark.

Nellie Wahlberg, who is in her freshman season, had a 15-2 overall record and a 10-2 record in her conference slate. After spending most of her season at the No. 4 spot, she finished with a 12-2 record in that line of the order. She also had a strong end to the season with a four-match winning streak which included winning nine of her last 10 matches.

The Lenoir-Rhyne Women’s Tennis Team will resume its season in the SAC Tournament Quarterfinal Round on Thursday, April 18. After clinching the No. 2 spot in the tournament, the Bears will face No. 7 seeded Newberry at 2 p.m. from the Palmetto Tennis Center in Sumter, S.C.

2024 SAC Women’s Tennis Conference
First Team Doubles
Suzuka Sambyakugari / Eva Siska, Wingate
Runa Muderrisoglu / Claudia Orsini, Lenoir-Rhyne
Nellie Wahlberg / Alicia Wahlberg, Lenoir-Rhyne

Second Team Doubles
Elodie Baechler/Valentina Loretz, Tusculum
Anastasiia Khriapko / Camilla Molina Barranco, Limestone
Natasha Forrest/Summer Reeves, Carson-Newman

Third Team Doubles
Chloe Kosmrlj / Daniela Kotara, Wingate
Emmerson Banning / Jade Bellegy, Coker University
Anamaria Kiszner-Luca / Monika Temkova, Limestone

First Team Singles
Eva Siska, Wingate
Chloe Kosmrlj, Wingate
Ami Miya, Catawba
Anamaria Kiszner-Luca, Limestone
Runa Muderrisoglu, Lenoir-Rhyne
Elodie Baechler, Tusculum

Second Team Singles
Jade Bellergy, Coker
Alicia Wahlberg, Lenoir-Rhyne
Suzuka Sambyakugari, Wingate
Valentina Loretz, Tusculum
Fernanda Castillo, Wingate
Paulina Loretz, Tusculum

Third Team Singles
Natasha Forrest, Carson-Newman
Camilia Molina Barranco, Limestone
Monika Temkova, Limestone
Emma Arnal, Newberry
Nellie Wahlberg, Lenoir-Rhyne
Annika Harkovirta, Wingate

Player of the Year
Eva Siska, Wingate

Freshman of the Year
Runa Muderrisoglu, Lenoir-Rhyne

Coach of the Year
Derrick Taylor, Wingate

{Information provided by Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics}