skip to Main Content
Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Tennis Wins Over Lees-McRae
Rhodri Atkinson becomes the second Bear in this spring season to earn the SAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, joining men's golf's Matthew Raybould.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Tennis Wins Over Lees-McRae

Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Tennis won its 7th straight match on Monday afternoon with a 7-0 sweep of Lees-McRae. The Bears won in straight sets in all of the singles matches, and needed just one tiebreakers in the doubles round to secure the victory.

In doubles, Rhodri Atkinson and Josh Lazenby won 6-1 at No. 1, Mauricio Hernandez and Joel Hemmings needed the aforementioned tiebreaker to win 7-6 at No. 2, and SAC Player of the Week Lewis Scott and Patrik Alvestrand won 6-0 at No. 3.

In singles, the Bears won all the matches in straight sets. It was Atkinson winning 6-2, 6-2, at No. 1, Lazenby winning 6-2, 6-3 at No. 2, Scott winning 7-6, 6-4 at No. 3, Hernandez winning 6-2, 6-1 at No. 4, Zachary Cox winning 6-2, 6-1 at No. 5, and Connor Gibson dominating 6-1, 6-1 at No. 6.

The Bears are back in action tomorrow at home against Coker as SAC play resumes.