skip to Main Content
Vadym Rogynskyi and Rufus Plane.
Vadym Rogynskyi and Rufus Plane. were named third team doubles.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Tennis Duo Named All-Conference

The South Atlantic Conference announced its all-conference men’s tennis awards on Wednesday as the Lenoir-Rhyne had two representatives in Vadym Rogynskyi and Rufus Plane.

The duo was named to third team doubles after the pair posted an 11-5 overall record and an 8-4 record in conference play. The two played every doubles match at the No. 1 spot in the order and ended the season by winning seven of their last 10 contests.

In addition to making third team doubles, Rogynskyi was named second team singles after recording a 13-3 overall record and a 10-2 mark in conference play. The sophomore from Ukraine played most of his matches at the No. 3 spot in the order and finished with an 8-3 record. He also collected wins at the No. 1, No. 2 and No. 4 parts of the lineup.

The Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Tennis Team will resume its season in the SAC Tournament Quarterfinal Round on Thursday, April 18. After clinching the No. 6 spot in the tournament, the Bears will face No. 3 seeded Carson-Newman at 9 a.m. from the Palmetto Tennis Center in Sumter, S.C.

2024 SAC Men’s Tennis All-Conference
First Team Doubles
Luka Brown / Hugo Nossler – Wingate
Edoardo Cecere / Ryan Little – Catawba
Gabriel Constantino / Edis Nokic – Wingate

Second Team Doubles
Lars Hordijk / Marnix Van Dalen – Carson-Newman
Andre Zamorano / Andres Cortes – Limestone
Harper Mills / Thom Hermans – Lincoln Memorial

Third Team Doubles
Tom Lamers / Thibaut Decaluew – Coker
Vadym Rogynsky / Rufus Plane – Lenoir-Rhyne
David Negzaoui / Joshua Fritz – Newberry

First Team Singles
Edoardo Cecere – Catawba
Marnix Van Dalen – Carson-Newman
Gabriel Constantion – Wingate
Kartik Parhar – Emory & Henry
Florian Walcher – Wingate
Carlo Rosellini – Wingate

Second Team Singles
Vincent Mico Fellonar – Anderson
Marc Janse – Carson-Newman
Nemanja Subanovic – Tusculum
Vadym Rogynski – Lenoir-Rhyne
Alexandru Giurea – Lincoln Memorial
Louca Bertone – Limestone

Third Team Singles
Yi-Hsuan Chen – UVA Wise
Mateo Berne – Catawba
Hugo Nossler – Wingate
Will Gee – Tusculum
Edis Nokic – Wingate
Radu Florea – Lincoln Memorial

Player of the Year
Edoardo Cecere – Catawba

Freshman of the Year
Yi-Hsuan Chen – UVA Wise

Coach of the Year
Derrick Taylor – Wingate

{Information provided by Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics}