skip to Main Content
Matthew Mancini
Matthew Mancini was named tournament MVP.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Lacrosse Wins 2024 South Atlantic Conference Championship

Lenoir-Rhyne men’s lacrosse earned their fourth South Atlantic Conference Men’s Lacrosse Championship title with a 13-12 win over Limestone on Sunday afternoon at the Sportsplex in Matthews, N.C. The Bears have now won three of the past four SAC Tournaments as today’s game featured the nation’s No. 1 and No. 2 seeds.

LR trailed 7-5 at the half but erupted for six third-quarter goals, including five straight to start the second half. Limestone pulled within one at 12-11 with just over four minutes to go before Ryan Duncan scored to make it 13-11. Limestone tried to come back as Jason Thomfohrde made it 13-12 with 45 seconds to go but the Bears would win the next face off and kill the clock.

Lenoir-Rhyne faceoff specialist Matthew Mancini was named the tournament MVP as he won 15-of-26 faceoffs, including the game-clincher with 45 seconds to play, and added nine ground balls to go with a goal. Donovan Powell had three goals and an assist and Duncan had two goals and a helper.

Limestone was led by five goals and an assist from Thomfohrde in the losing effort.

The NCAA Division II Men’s Lacrosse selection show is scheduled to air next Sunday night, which will determine the postseason fates of all SAC schools. The show will air on at 7:30 p.m.

2024 SAC Men’s Lacrosse All-Tournament Team

Thomas Sullivan, Wingate

Jimmy Osorio, Newberry

Shane O’Leary, Limestone

Joel Mullen, Limestone

Nate Senez, Limestone

Victor Powell, Lenoir-Rhyne

Rob Pensabene, Lenoir-Rhyne

Donovan Powell, Lenoir-Rhyne

Ryan Duncan, Lenoir-Rhyne

Matthew Mancini, MVP, Lenoir-Rhyne

{Information provided by South Atlantic Conference}