skip to Main Content
Colten McCracken
Colten McCracken was one of four Bears to be named to the preseason All-Conference team.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Lacrosse Picked to Win SAC Again

Winners of the past two SAC regular season and SAC tournament titles, the Lenoir-Rhyne men’s lacrosse team has been predicted to finish first in the preseason conference coaches’ poll. The Bears earned 79 points and seven of the 10 first place votes and finished ahead of Limestone and Wingate.

Myles Moffat, Toron Eccleston, Victor Powell and Colten McCracken were named to the Preseason First Team All-Conference and Tommy Aguilar, Nate Ashley and John Paulus were named to the Second Team.

Joe Venazio and Bryce Reece garnered Third Team All-Conference nods.

The Bears open the regular season on Saturday, Feb. 4 when Maryville comes to town for a noon face off. The Bears were just announced as the No. 4 team in the nation in the preseason Inside Lacrosse national poll.

Rank School (1st Place Votes) Points
1 Lenoir-Rhyne (7) 79
2 Limestone (2) 72
3 Wingate (1) 68
4 Newberry 56
5 Anderson 47
6 Catawba 36
7 Tusculum 35
8 Coker 24
9 Lincoln Memorial 18
10 Mars Hill 15

2023 SAC Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference – PRESEASON
All-SAC First Team
A – Willie Grieco, Wingate
A – Myles Moffat, Lenoir-Rhyne
A – Logan Gaddis, Anderson
MF – Toron Eccleston, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Baker Westmoreland, Newberry
MF – Danny Riley, Wingate
D – Victor Powell, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Peyton Farley, Wingate
D – Peyton Jefferson, Anderson
LP – Nathan Allan, Coker
Short-Stick Defensive MF – Colten McCracken, Lenoir-Rhyne
Face-off Spec. – Cam Weeks, Anderson
GK – Joey Heckel, Anderson

All-SAC Second Team
A – Beau Henson, Anderson
A – Chris Erneston, Limestone
A – Nate Raymond, Tusculum
MF – Mike McGarry, Limestone
MF – Curtis Bukta, Newberry
MF – Tommy Aguilar, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Chase Robertson, Anderson
D – Jack Travassos, Newberry
D – Brock Strong, Newberry
LP – Nate Ashley, Lenoir-Rhyne
Short-Stick Defensive MF – Nathan Fraser, Tusculum
Face-off Spec. – John Paulus, Lenoir-Rhyne
GK – John Caponi, Wingate

All-SAC Third Team
A – Joe Venazio, Lenoir-Rhyne
A – Cal Gibson, Coker
A – Trevor Kennedy, Mars Hill
MF – Garrett Hawkins, Anderson
MF – Ryley Zopfi, Anderson
MF – Bryce Reece, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Jordan Sullivan, Lincoln Memorial
D – Ryan Morrison, Limestone
D – Dillon Ricketts, Lincoln Memorial
LP – Joe Karnich, Wingate
Short-Stick Defensive MF – Ashton Wilson, Lincoln Memorial
Face-off Spec. – Tim Ladner, Limestone
GK – Riley Semmes, Tusculum