skip to Main Content
Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Lacrosse Has Eight Named All-Conference
Toron Eccleston was named first team all-conference at midfield this season as well.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Lacrosse Has Eight Named All-Conference

For the second straight year, the Lenoir-Rhyne Men’s Lacrosse Team placed eight players on the All-South Atlantic Conference Team as announced by the league this morning. The Bears placed three on the first team, two on the second team and three more on the third team.

LR saw Toron Eccleston, Victor Powell and Mitchell Linklater be named First Team All-Conference. The selection is the first for Eccleston while Powell and Linklater were Second Team All-SAC in 2021. Eccleston led LR with 35 goals in 15 games and added a team-high 47 points. Powell led a defense that ranks seventh in Division II in allowing just 8.00 goals per game. Powell finished the regular season with 22 caused turnovers and added 38 ground balls. For his career, Powell ranks second in program history with 52 caused turnovers. Linklater netted four goals and added four assists to go with 28 ground balls and four caused turnovers as a short-stick defensive midfielder. Linklater’s 151 career ground balls have him in a third-place tie in program history.

Noah Johnson and Myles Moffat earn Second Team nods. The duo were First Teamers in 2021 and have the Bears inside the top 10 in the nation once again. Johnson went 12-3 in goal and added 142 saves with a .570 save percentage and 8.17 GAA, which is the second-best in a single-season in team history. Moffat has 20 goals and 19 assists and crossed the 200-point threshold for his career this season, becoming one of just three Bears to ever accomplish that feat.

Faceoff specialist John Paulus, midfielder Tommy Aguilar and graduate student transfer James Brugger were all selected to the Third Team All-League. Paulus and Aguilar earn their first-ever selections while Brugger returns to the All-Conference list as he was an Honorable Mention selection at Coker a year ago.

2022 SAC Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference

All-SAC First Team
A – Willie Grieco, Wingate
A – Kealan Pilon, Queens
A – Bobby Padden, Wingate

MF – Toron Eccleston, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Baker Westmoreland, Newberry
MF – Danny Riley, Wingate

D – Victor Powell, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Kendall Collins, Limestone
D – Payton Leonard, Catawba

LP – Nathan Allan, Coker

Short-Stick Defensive MF – Mitchell Linklater, Lenoir-Rhyne

Face-off Spec. – Cam Weeks, Anderson

GK – William Baxter, Limestone

All-SAC Second Team
A – Tyler Ewen, Queens
A – Gavin Kesselring, Limestone
A – Myles Moffat, Lenoir-Rhyne

MF – Dorian Faster, Limestone
MF – Curtis Bukta, Newberry
MF – Austin Leonard, Queens

D – Peyton Jefferson, Anderson
D – Jack Travassos, Newberry
D – Peyton Farley, Wingate

LP – Mike Dilegge, Wingate

Short-Stick Defensive MF – AJ Lohmuller, Wingate

Face-off Spec. – Michael Logan, Limestone

GK – Noah Johnson, Lenoir-Rhyne

All-SAC Third Team
A – Chris Erneston, Limestone
A – Zac Carrigan, Mars Hill
A – Beau Henson, Anderson

MF – Mike McGarry, Limestone
MF – Owen Consoletti, Limestone
MF – Tommy Aguilar, Lenoir-Rhyne

D – James Brugger, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Ryan Morrison, Limestone
D – Will McNichols, Queens

LP – Tim Roesler, Newberry

Short-Stick Defensive MF – Lance Olson, Limestone

Face-off Spec. – John Paulus, Lenoir-Rhyne

GK – Joey Heckel, Anderson

Offensive Player of the Year
Willie Grieco, Wingate

Defensive Player of the Year
William Baxter, Limestone

Freshman of the Year
Triston Schaffer, Anderson

Coach of the Year
Brendan Storrier, Limestone