skip to Main Content
Tyler McPeak
Tyler McPeak was named a first team preseason all-conference selection.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne Baseball Picked to Finish Third in Conference

The Lenoir-Rhyne Baseball Team was picked to finish third in the 2024 SAC Baseball Preseason Poll that was released Tuesday morning. In addition, six members were named to the all-conference teams.

The Bears recorded a score of 123 points and three first-place votes. LR was placed behind the reigning SAC Regular Season and Tournament Champions, Newberry, who collected 136 points and nine first-place votes. Edging out LR for the second spot was Wingate, who tallied 124 points and a single first-place vote.

Out of the six members to be selected to the all-conference teams, four were named to the first team. The Bears were represented by outfielder Blake Bean, first baseman Tyler McPeak, second baseman Cole Laskowski, and designated hitter Sal Carricato.

Bean, a graduate student from Farmington Hills, Mich., led all LR qualified batters last season with a 1.179 OPS. The outfielder also led the Bears with 17 doubles and shared a tie for most triples with two. Bean started in all 54 games and led the team with 204 at-bats.

McPeak, a graduate student from Denver, N.C., led all LR batters last season with 18 home runs and 63 RBIs. The first baseman appeared in 53 games last season and accumulated the second-most hits on the team with 67.

Laskowski, a redshirt junior from Lancaster, N.Y., led all qualified LR batters last season with a .493 on-base percentage thanks to his team-high 42 walks. The second baseman also recorded the second-most doubles with 16.

Carricato, a redshirt junior from Long Island, N.Y., led all qualified LR batters last season with a .369 batting average. The designated hitter was also one of the four LR batters to record double digits in multiple extra-base categories with 14 doubles and 11 home runs.

The two extra members selected to the all-conference teams were starting pitcher Joshua Lanham and catcher Bryce Stober, who were named to the second and third teams, respectively.

Lanham, a redshirt senior from Augusta, Ga., is the lone LR starter returning from the 2023 season. The right-handed ace posted a 6-3 record in his 13 starts on the mound. Out of last year’s weekend starters, Lanham led the group with 68.2 innings pitched and a 1.41 WHIP.

Stober, a senior from Hickory, N.C., led all LR players with 18 stolen bases. The catcher appeared in 53 games from the 2023 season while splitting his roles between the outfield and behind the plate. Stober recorded a .317 batting average and a .381 on base percentage.

The Lenoir-Rhyne Baseball Team will start its 2024 campaign on Friday, Feb. 2 with a four-game road series against Flagler.

2024 SAC Baseball Preseason Poll

Rank School (First Place Votes) Score
1 Newberry (9) 136
2 Wingate (1) 124
3 Lenoir-Rhyne (3) 123
4 Catawba 115
5 Lincoln Memorial 99
6 Carson-Newman 93
7 Anderson (1) 81
8 Tusculum 66
9 Coker 46
10 Limestone 44
11 Mars Hill 43
T-12 Emory & Henry 22
T-12 UVA-Wise 22
2024 SAC Preseason All-Conference
All-SAC First Team
OF – Blake Bean, Lenoir-Rhyne
OF – Dylan Driver, Catawba
OF – Donovan Ford, Newberry
1B – Tyler McPeak, Lenoir-Rhyne
2B – Cole Laskowski, Lenoir-Rhyne
SS – Ben Scartz, Tusculum
3B – Jonathan Velez, Newberry
C – Rhett Jolly, Newberry
DH – Sal Carricato, Lenoir-Rhyne
SP – Tyler Chinpire, Newberry
SP – Bennett Roemer, Newberry
SP – Austin Fine, Catawba
RP – Jake Wright, Carson-Newman

All-SAC Second Team
OF – Sean Barnett, Wingate
OF – Jermie Greene Jr., Emory & Henry
OF – Luke Poole, Anderson
1B – Cole Harness, UVA-Wise
2B – Jomar Lugo, Newberry
SS – Levi Perrell, Catawba
3B – Andrew McKay, Wingate
C – Carlos Hernandez, Anderson
DH – Kody Hanna, Coker
SP – Joshua Lanham, Lenoir-Rhyne
SP – Luke Absher, Tusculum
SP – Marty Neal, Limestone
RP – David Brian Ellison, Lincoln Memorial

All-SAC Third Team
OF – Kade Faircloth, Newberry
OF – Zane Keener, Tusculum
OF – Jacob Lebron, Newberry
1B – Brett Adams, Wingate
2B – Mitch Petzelt, Lincoln Memorial
SS – Peter Adams, Limestone
3B – Kasten Harvey, Lincoln Memorial
C – Bryce Stober, Lenoir-Rhyne
DH – Carson Boles, Lincoln Memorial
SP – Ethan Bobo, Lincoln Memorial
SP – Josh Dostson, Wingate
SP – Mason Gwyn, Catawba
RP – Jake Contino, Limestone