skip to Main Content
nchsaa logo

High School Wrestling Individual Champions Crowned Over the Weekend

The North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA) concluded the 87th Annual Individual Wrestling State Tournament at the Greensboro Coliseum on Saturday, February 18, 2023. Day three concluded with 56 champions crowned in the 14 weight classes in each of the Association’s four classifications and four team tournament champions crowned.

Bandys in the 2A class, and Fred T. Foard in the 3A class won team championships in the event.

Below are the results for all Hickory Metro wrestlers who finished in the top six.



1A: Avery County – 134.5 points | Kage Williams (Robbinsville)

2A: Bandys – 134.0 points | Jeremiah Price (Surry Central)

3A: Fred T. Foard 142.5 points | Charlie Sly (Stuart Cramer)

4A: Laney 118.5 points | Ian Fitz (Topsail)


2023 NCHSAA Individual Wrestling State Tournament Results

2A Championship Finals

2A 138 lbs.
Will Nix (Bandys, 47-5) won by major decision over Caleb Cox (R-S Central, 50-9) (MD 9-1)

2A 170 lbs.
Jaxon Turner (Brevard, 37-6) won by decision over Jordan Henze (Newton-Conover, 53-9) (Dec 6-5)

2A 195 lbs.
Owen Clark (Newton-Conover, 53-2) won by decision over Ray Laney (Brevard, 29-5) (Dec 5-3)

2A 285 lbs.
DJ Spring (Maiden, 30-1) won in the ultimate tie breaker over Dyllin Ellis (Bunn, 34-7) (UTB 3-2)

3A Championship Finals

3A 106 lbs.
Samuel Aponte (Cape Fear, 34-3) won by decision over George Coleman (Fred T. Foard, 47-6) (Dec 10-5)

3A 145 lbs.
Brock Carey (Fred T. Foard, 51-0) won by decision over Tyriq Freeman (Central Cabarrus, 38-9) (Dec 14-7)

3A 152 lbs.
Brayden Mejia (Fred T. Foard, 44-1) won by decision over Xander Hill (Pisgah, 44-5) (Dec 6-4)

3A 170 lbs.
Zane Birtchet (Fred T. Foard, 48-2) won by major decision over Dominic Blue (Scotland County, 48-11) (MD 11-3)

3A 195 lbs.
Dylan Smith (Fred T. Foard, 49-0) won by decision over Acoya Isley (Orange, 34-3) (Dec 10-4)

2A Consolation Finals
2A 113 lbs.
3rd Place Match – Brayden Hall (Trinity, 45-10) won by decision over Fernando Teniente (West Caldwell, 44-12) (Dec 5-2)

2A 126 lbs.
3rd Place Match – Josh Hammac (Mt. Pleasant, 46-13) won by decision over Trey Story (Bandys, 45-12) (Dec 7-3)

2A 138 lbs.
3rd Place Match – Connor Shumate (Newton Conover, 54-7) won by decision over Ethan Smith (Lincolnton, 48-11) (Dec 2-1)

2A 145 lbs.
3rd Place Match – Josh White (Lincolnton, 45-6) won by decision over Rakeem Smith (West Caldwell, 40-8) (Dec 3-1)

5th Place Match – Trey Ballew (Bandys, 30-6) won by decision over Jacob Crump (North Pitt, 45-8 )(Dec 11-4)

2A 152 lbs.
3rd Place Match – Cole Prichard (Morehead, 47-3) won by tech fall over Luke Burkett (Bandys, 46-16) (TF-1.5 4:58 (17-1))

5th Place Match – Jason Brawley (Newton Conover, 55-5) won by forfeit over Bryant Smith (Washington, 32-7) (For.)

2A 160 lbs.
3rd Place Match – Ian Moore (Bandys, 39-4) won by major decision over Dominic Hittepole (Wheatmore, 43-7) (MD 11-2)

2A 182 lbs.
5th Place Match – Camden Mongene (Bandys, 25-9) won by fall over Jadyn Virgil (Polk County, 46-12) (Fall 3:39)

2A 195 lbs.
3rd Place Match – Zack Evans (Bandys, 39-7) won by fall over Alex Maximov (Hendersonville, 50-11) (Fall 4:12)

2A 220 lbs.
5th Place Match – J`Lynn Sheff (Walkertown, 21-3) won by fall over Matthew Cranfill (Bandys, 50-12) (Fall 3:58)

3A 138 lbs.
5th Place Match – Jacob Perry (West Rowan, 40-9) won by decision over Kevin Romero (Fred T. Foard, 30-11) (Dec 6-0)

3A 145 lbs.
3rd Place Match – Daniel Tierney (Concord, 40-5) won in sudden victory over Ross Watts (Hibriten, 49-9) (SV-1 3-1)

3A 182 lbs.
3rd Place Match – Landon Pope (Pisgah, 43-7) won in sudden victory over Andrew Kehoe (St. Stephens, 51-5) (SV-1 3-1)

3A 220 lbs.
5th Place Match – Xavier Wilson (Eastern Guilford, 53-7) won by decision over Nicholas Martinez (Hickory, 32-7) (Dec 5-2)

3A 285 lbs.
5th Place Match – Alex Jukoski (Central Academy, 40-7) won by decision over Sam Bolch (Fred T. Foard, 42-9) (Dec 4-0)