skip to Main Content

Four Appalachian State Wrestlers Earn All-Conference Honors

The 10-person All-SoCon team announced by the league Thursday included four App State wrestling standouts.

With one honoree at each of the 10 weight classes, a vote from the league’s coaches resulted in all-conference recognition for Ethan Oakley (133 pounds), Cody Bond (149 pounds), Tommy Askey (157 pounds) and Will Miller (165 pounds).

The SoCon’s All-Freshman team included true freshman Tomas Brooker, App State’s successful starter at 184 pounds.

Oakley and Askey repeated as All-SoCon selections. Bond earned his first All-SoCon honor after posting an unbeaten record in conference duals for the second time in his career, while Miller was also honored for the first time (in his second season as a starter).

Miller (8-0 in SoCon duals this season), Bond (7-0) and Askey (7-0) have been announced as No. 1 seeds for the SoCon Championship tournament that will be held Saturday at the Holmes Convocation Center in Boone. Oakley (6-1) was voted the No. 2 seed in his weight class.

Oakley and top-seeded Dom Zaccone from Campbell both had one SoCon dual loss, with Oakley prevailing 14-8 against Zaccone in Buies Creek. The highest-ranked SoCon wrestler at 133, Zaccone won against third-seeded Blake Boarman from Chattanooga, while Oakley suffered his lone SoCon loss after getting improbably caught underneath Boarman (who went 6-2 in SoCon duals) while going in for a shot to build on a 6-2 lead in their matchup.

Brooker is seeded No. 3 for the SoCon Championship event after going 6-2 in league duals and ending the regular season with an 18-13 overall record.


2023-24 All-SoCon Team
125: Anthony Molton, Sr., Campbell
133: Ethan Oakley, So., App State
141: Isaiah Powe, Fr., Chattanooga
149: Cody Bond, Sr., App State
157: Tommy Askey, Jr., App State
165: Will Miller, Jr., App State
174: Austin Murphy, Sr., Campbell
184: Caleb Hopkins, Sr., Campbell
197: Levi Hopkins, Sr., Campbell
285: Taye Ghadiali, R-Jr., Campbell

2023-24 All-Freshman Team
Tomas Brooker, 184, App State
Grant O’Dell, 165, Bellarmine
Wynton Denkins, 141, Campbell
Chris Earnest, 157, Campbell
Sergio Desiante, 174, Chattanooga
Isaiah Powe, 141, Chattanooga
Patrick Brophy, 197, The Citadel
Wyatt Ferguson, 184, Davidson
Tyler-Xavier McKnight, 149, Davidson
Patrick Jordon, 141, VMI

2023-24 Wrestler of the Year
Taye Ghadiali, 285, Sr., Campbell

2023-24 Freshman of the Year
Isaiah Powe, 141, Chattanooga