skip to Main Content
Four App State Runners Make Sun Belt’s Runners To Watch List
Lisha vanOnselen competed for the Mountaineers during the indoor track and field season last year after transferring to App from Coastal Carolina.

Four App State Runners Make Sun Belt’s Runners to Watch List

Two men’s and two women’s App State cross country runners were named as Runners to Watch by the Sun Belt Conference for the upcoming 2020 season.

On the men’s side, Isaac Benz and Ryan Brown were tabbed as Runners to Watch, while Lisha Van Onselen and Izzy Evely were named on the women’s side.

Last season, Benz earned first-team all-conference accolades with a fourth place finish at the Sun Belt Championships in 24:21.60. He also earned Sun Belt Cross Country Runner of the Week honors after a second place finish at the Covered Bridge Open.

Brown recorded three top-10 finishes last season, including a fifth place finish at the Sun Belt Championships with a time of 24:29.00. He also turned in a PR time of 24:15.00 in the 8K at the Louisville Classic, crossing 20th in a field of over 300 runners.

Van Onselen earned her second consecutive second-team All-Sun Belt honor last season, placing eighth at the Sun Belt Championships while competing for Coastal Carolina. In 2017, she crossed second overall in a PR time of 17:38.50 for first-team all-conference honors.

Last season, Evely earned her second consecutive all-conference honor with a ninth-place finish in 18:58.4. She was named first-team All-Sun Belt after crossing fifth in 2018.

The Mountaineers will open the 2020 season on Sept. 18 by hosting the Mountains to Sea Open at the Don Kennedy Trails at State Farm Fields.

Top 7 Women’s Cross Country Runners to Watch
1 Lotte Meyberg (SR) Georgia State
2 Pauline Meyer (SR) Arkansas State
3 Andonet Cheruiyot (SR) South Alabama
4 Elizabeth Gillette (SR) Arkansas State
5 Carolien Millenaar (SR) South Alabama
6 Lisha Van Onselen (GS) App State
7 Izzy Evely (JR) App State

Top 7 Men’s Cross Country Runners to Watch
1 Adriaan Wildschutt (JR) Coastal Carolina
2 Isaac Benz (SR) App State
3 Ryan Brown (JR) App State
4 Bennett Pascoe (SR) Arkansas State
5 Onesmus Kemboi (SR) South Alabama
6 Justin Botello (SR) Texas State
7 Warno Potgieter (SR) South Alabama