skip to Main Content

Election Filing in Caldwell County Complete

Filing for the 2024 Election in Caldwell County ended on Friday (December 15), and the ballots are set for the Primary Election, which will be held on Tuesday, March 5.

Eight Republicans have filed to run for three seats on the Caldwell County Board of Commissioners, according to the county’s Public Information Officer, Paige Counts. Incumbents Jeff Branch, Randy Church, and Robbie Wilkie are all seeking another term. They will face challengers Nancy Bailey, Ben Griffin, Brian Kidd, Larry Minton, and Patrick Starnes.

Four Republicans and one Libertarian filed to run for three seats on the Board of Education. Incumbents Chris Becker, Ann B. Edwards, and Darrell Pennell filed to serve another term. They will face Republican challenger Sarah Greer Koenig. The winners of the Primary will face Libertarian Michael Barrick in the fall of 2024.

Register of Deeds Wayne Rash will run unopposed.

N.C. Representative Destin Hall will face Democrat Barbara Kirby in November in a race for the N.C. House of Representatives District 87 seat.

In the N.C. State Senate District 45 Race, Republicans Nancy R. Meek and Mark Hallo will face each other in the Primary Election. Democrat Kim Bost will face the winner of the Republican Primary.

For the N.C. State Senate District 47, incumbent Ralph Hise will face Democratic challenger Frank Patton Hughes III in the General Election.

In the race for U.S. House of Representative District 5, incumbent Virginia Foxx will face challenger Ryan Mayberry in the Primary. The winner will face Democrat Chuck Hubbard.