skip to Main Content
CVCC Men’s Basketball Earns Three All-Region Performers

CVCC Men’s Basketball Earns Three All-Region Performers

The Catawba Valley Community College men’s basketball team made program history this season with a record three All-Region 10 performers.

Sophomore guards Jaylen Prioleau, Derrick Molden and Donovan Evans were all honored with All-Region accolades — the first time the CVCC men’s basketball team has received three all-conference awards.

Prioleau, a Florence, S.C. native, was chosen second team All-Region. He led CVCC with 9.9 points per game and 7.3 rebounds per game this season.

The 6-foot-3 point guard also led CVCC in rebounds (118) assists (39), steals (27) and blocked shots (9).

A Manchester, Conn. native, Molden was named third team All-Region after recorded 8.0 points and 4.4 rebounds per game. The 6-foot-4 guard finished second on the team in field goal percentage (44.5 percent) and third in 3-point percentage (33.3 percent).

Evans, who is from Raleigh, N.C., finished second for the Red Hawks in scoring at 9.7 points per game. The 5-foot-9 guard also made a team-best 31 3-point field goals while shooting 32 percent from 3-point range.

Behind these three All-Region performers, the Red Hawks finished their 2020-21 season with a 13-7 overall record — winning seven of the final nine games.

Below is a complete list of the All-Region 10 performers this season in men’s basketball:

2020-21 All-Region 10 men’s basketball

First team
Malik Bryant, Louisburg
Javeon Jones, Davidson-Davie
Derreco Miller, Sandhills
Na’Zae Baltimore, Davidson-Davie
Jaylin Stewart, Bryant & Stratton

Second team
Tyreik McCallum, Fayetteville Tech
Bryan Quiller, Sandhills
Savion Staton, Sandhills
Shawn Sanders, Bryant & Stratton
Jaylen Prioleau, Catawba Valley

Third team
Jekael Gay, Fayetteville Tech
Derrick Molden, Catawba Valley
Donte Johnson, Fayetteville Tech
Joe Barrino, Louisburg
L.J. Rogers, Davidson-Davie

Honorable mention
Raequane Key, Guilford Tech
Drew Smith, Guilford Tech
Donovan Evans, Catawba Valley
Derek Garner, Central Carolina
Montell Moore, Central Carolin

Player of the Year: Malik Bryant, Louisburg

Coach of the Year: Matt Ridge, Davidson-Davie