skip to Main Content

CVCC Athletics Announce Second Hall of Fame Class

The Catawba Valley Community College athletic department announces its second Hall of Fame Class as well as details for its induction ceremony.

Members of the newest Red Hawk Athletics Hall of Fame class include CVCC men’s golf standout Travis Bland (1993-95), CVCC baseball standout Bryson Bowman (2013-14), former CVCC head women’s basketball coach Tommy Edwards (2009-13), former CVCC volleyball head coach Shannon Hudson (2009-20) and CVCC women’s basketball standout Shaniya Lester (2016-18).
Catawba Valley Community College athletics will also introduce a new honor — the Red Hawk Spirit of Service Award, which will be presented to Tim Peeler, the former Director of the Learning Assistance Program at CVCC.

All six of these individuals will be honored at the second Red Hawks Hall of Fame induction ceremony, which will take place Thursday, Jan. 19 at 6 p.m. in the Tarlton Complex on CVCC’s main campus in Hickory.

In conjunction with the induction ceremony, current country music artist and professional baseball player, Bryce Hensley, will perform a special show for those in attendance. Bryce is a baseball alum and was a member of the 2015 World Series team. For more information on Hensley, visit

The five new members of the Red Hawk Athletics Hall of Fame will join members from the first-ever Red Hawk Hall of Fame Class, including Charlie Bock, Mark Clodfelter, Terri Ferber, Danny Fraga, Kadesha Gibbs, Eddie Martin, Jeff Moore, Jim Murray, Bryan Norris and Brad Turner.