skip to Main Content

courtesy of Kim Jordan Catawba County Schools

Catawba County Schools Names Teacher, Principal of the Year, and More

On Thursday May 30, 2024, Catawba County Schools celebrated its nearly 2,200 dedicated employees during the district-wide “Finish Line Fuel Up” event at CVCC’s Tarlton Complex. The event saw enthusiastic participation from all CCS employees, who brought their best school spirit to the celebration. Students representing each of our high schools provided cheerleaders and a drumline, and a consolidated JROTC color guard presented the colors.

The event’s highlight was an inspiring keynote address by Bobby Lutz, a Bandys Alum, former collegiate coach and Athletic Director, and member of the Charlotte Athletics Hall of Fame. Lutz shared fond memories of his time with Catawba County Schools and motivated teachers to continue making a profound impact on the lives of their students.

Superintendent Dr. Matthew Stover proudly announced Robbin Isenhour-Stewart from St. Stephens High School as the Catawba County Schools 2024 Teacher of the Year. Selected through a rigorous process from 28 candidates representing each school in the district, Mrs. Isenhour-Stewart received a $250 award from the Education Foundation for Catawba County Schools, a crystal apple provided by Horace Mann, and the use of a 2024 Camry for one year, courtesy of Mike Johnson’s Hickory Toyota. She will now advance to represent Catawba County Schools at the regional level.

Additionally, Dr. Chad Maynor from Bandys High School was honored as the Catawba County Schools 2024 Principal of the Year. He received a $250 award from the Education Foundation for Catawba County Schools and will also move forward to represent the district at the regional level.

Other top winners of the afternoon include:

*Elementary Teacher of the Year: Jordan Edwards, Sherrills Ford Elementary

*Secondary Teacher of the Year: Krystal Luce, River Bend Middle School

*Beginning Teacher of the Year: Rachel Houck, Mountain View Elementary School

Counselor of the Year: Amber Moulton, St. Stephens High School

Media Coordinator of the Year: Kim Ferrell, C.H. Tuttle Elementary School

*Assistant Principal of the Year: Amy Gates, Sherrills Ford Elementary School

* Recipients of a crystal apple award provided by Horace Mann.

The following award recipients were celebrated at an earlier date but were also recognized at the day’s event:

Bus Driver of the Year: Shannon Ledford, Foard Feeder

CCATA Teacher Assistant of the Year: Jeanette Preslar, Elementary School

The above winners also received a $250.00 award from the Education Foundation for Catawba County Schools.

Educational Office Professional of the Year: Tammy Link, Curriculum & Instruction

Educational Office Professional Administrator of the Year: Fred Whalen, Human Resources

EC Educator of Excellence: Reginald Lineberger, Catawba Rosenwald

First-time National Board Certification recipients were also recognized at the event. Catawba County Schools extends heartfelt congratulations to all the award recipients and expresses deep gratitude to all employees for their unwavering commitment and passion for education.