skip to Main Content

courtesy of Catawba Co. Schools

Catawba County Schools Names Five New Principals in The District

Catawba County Schools Superintendent Dr. Matt Stover announced five principal appointments for the upcoming school year, all experienced administrators with long-time ties to the district. The school board confirmed these positions on Monday night. The new administrators, who underwent rigorous application processes, will begin their new positions this summer.

Samy Shreitah will serve as the principal of Fred T. Foard High School
Samy Shreitah is a familiar face in a new role at Fred T. Foard High School. A 2004 graduate of Fred T. Foard, Shreitah received his Bachelor’s degree in Political Science and History Education from North Carolina State University and returned to Fred T. Foard, where he taught in the Exceptional Children’s department and coached multiple sports for six years.

James Byrd will serve as the principal of Mill Creek Middle School
James Byrd is taking on the role of Mill Creek Middle School principal after serving as the Assistant Principal and Athletic Director of Bunker Hill High School for the past six years.

Natalie Inman will serve as the principal of Balls Creek Elementary School
Natalie Inman will return to Balls Creek Elementary as Principal after having taught there for 16 years early in her career. Inman was previously the Assistant Principal of Snow Creek Elementary and has been the Assistant Principal at Catawba Elementary since 2020.

Murphy Post will serve as the principal of Lyle Creek Elementary School
Murphy Post is a graduate of Appalachian State University and holds an M.A. from UNCW.Post spent three years as an assistant principal at Lyle Creek Elementary before taking on the principal role at Pumpkin Center Intermediate School in Lincoln County, where he has served since 2021.

Matthew Barham will serve as the principal of St. Stephens Elementary School
Matt Barham is a proud St. Stephens High School graduate and holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Gardner Webb University and a Master of Arts in Educational Leadership from Queens University.