skip to Main Content

courtesy of Catawba County Schools

Catawba County Schools Earned Statewide Recognition For Outstanding Communication

On February 9, 2023, The North Carolina School Public Relations Association (NCSPRA) honored Catawba County Schools for excellence in communications. Kim Jordan, Director of Marketing and Communication for the district, earned a total of 3 Blue Ribbon Awards for outstanding and effective communication. NCSPRA presented the awards during a special ceremony held in High Point, NC, on February 9, 2024. Jordan submitted in 3 categories and received 2 Gold level awards for outstanding publications (Print and Electronic). She received a Bronze level award for Image/Graphic Design.

Valerie Newton, NCSPRA President and Director of Communication and Family Engagement for Sampson County Schools, said the work of the award winners exemplifies the high standards of the North Carolina School Public Relations Association and the outstanding work of its members. “We are extremely proud of the work being done by NCSPRA members across the state, and the Blue Ribbon Award winners have demonstrated excellence in all facets of communication. Their expertise and professionalism in the field of communications highlight the superior work being done by North Carolina public schools, and their accomplishments deserve recognition. I congratulate all of our winners for the outstanding work they do to support students and teachers and promote public education.”

NCSPRA recognizes outstanding communications through its Blue Ribbon Awards program each year. Catawba County Schools was one of 35 school districts of the 115 statewide to receive a Blue Ribbon Award. This year’s submission categories included: Marketing, Digital Media Engagement, Electronic Media, Excellence in Writing, Publications, Image/Graphic Design, Photography, and Special Projects and Events. The Georgia School Public Relations Association judged NCSPRA’s 2023 Blue Ribbon entries.

In addition to the Blue Ribbon Awards and Best of the Best Awards, NCSPRA presented its inaugural School Communicator of the Year award to Les Atkins of the Alamance-Burlington School System. NCSPRA is a statewide professional organization serving more than 175 members. Its mission is to build support for public education through well-planned and responsible public relations.

For more information, please visit the NCSPRA Facebook page or