skip to Main Content
Caldwell County Sheriff Alan Jones
Photo courtesy of North Carolina Sheriff's Association

Caldwell Sheriff Elected Chairman Of State Commission

Caldwell County Sheriff Alan Jones was elected chairman of the North Carolina Sheriffs’ Education and Training Standards Commission. Sheriff Jones has served on the Commission since 2012. He was elected by his fellow commissioners to fill the position of chairman being vacated by Sheriff Alan Cloninger of Gaston County who recently retired.

Sheriff Jones is the longest serving sheriff in Caldwell County’s history. Prior to being appointed as sheriff in 2007, he served as chief deputy at Caldwell County Sheriff’s Office. Sheriff Jones has also served as secretary to the North Carolina Sheriffs’ Association’s since July 2019.

The Commission, which was created in 1983, is made up of 17 members appointed to staggered terms. Members are responsible for making decisions related to administrative rules that govern the certification program for all justice officers in sheriffs’ offices. Justice officers include deputy sheriffs, detention officers and telecommunicators.

The Commission is also responsible for determining whether new or current justice officers should be allowed to receive or keep their law enforcement officer certifications.