skip to Main Content
Toyaz Solomon
Toyaz Solomon was named Region Player of the Year.
photo courtesy of Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute Athletics

Caldwell Community College Men’s Basketball Earns Postseason Awards

The Caldwell Cobras were well represented on Tuesday as the Region 10 office released the 2022-2023 award winners for division one men’s basketball.

Toyaz Solomon was named Region 10 Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year. Solomon was also named first-team All-Region. Jalen Miller was named second-team All-Region and Jamison McIver took home Coach of the Year honors.

Solomon averaged 14.9 points per game and 9.6 rebounds per game. He also recorded 43 blocked shots and 15 steals on the season. Solomon scored a season high 27 points in the first game of the season against Motlow State. He scored 20-plus points in seven games and recorded eight double-double on the season, despite missing seven games in December with an injury.

Miller averaged 12.2 points per game while shooting 41% from the three-point line. He scored a season high 29 points in the Cobras’ 109-74 home victory over Cape Fear on January 20. Miller also hit a game winning three-pointer at the buzzer to defeat Wake Tech 84-82 on December 30 in Raleigh.

McIver, in his fifth season as the Cobras head coach, led the team to a 22-4 overall record, 10-2 in Region 10 Division 1, and the number one seed in the upcoming Region 10 Tournament. He also led Caldwell to an undefeated home record (13-0) for the first time in school history. McIver recorded career win 100 on Feb. 4 when the Cobras defeated Gaston College 93-87. McIver’s overall record is 104-36.

Caldwell will travel to Wilmington, NC for the Region 10 Tournament, March 9-11. The Cobras have a bye in the quarterfinals and will face either Cape Fear or Gaston College in the semifinals at 2PM on Friday.

All Region 10 First Team
Toyaz Solomon – Caldwell
Khouri Carvey – Brunswick
Keishon Porter – Cape Fear
Darrien Merriweather – Gaston
Daniel Mayfield – Spartanburg Methodist
Harold Johnson – Spartanburg Methodist

All Region 10 Second Team
Sam Hood – Brunswick
Daniel Ransom – Cape Fear
Martin Kawa – Richard Bland
Landon King – Brunswick
Korey Richardson – Cape Fear
Jalen Miller – Caldwell
Derrick Singleton – Denmark

Region 10 Player of the Year
Toyaz Solomon – Caldwell

Region 10 Coach of the Year
Jamison McIver – Caldwell

Region 10 Newcomer of the Year
Khouri Carvey – Brunswick

Region 10 Defensive Player of the Year
Toyaz Solomon – Caldwell