skip to Main Content
Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute Athletic logo

Caldwell Community College Garners Nine to NJCAA All-Academic Teams

Nine student-athletes from Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute were named to the National Junior College Athletics Association’s All-Academic teams for the 2021-2022 academic year. Student-athletes are eligible to earn academic honors by the NJCAA for achieving an overall GPA of 3.60 or higher with at least 24 semester hours completed for the academic year. The criteria for the three All-Academic teams are listed below:

NJCAA All-Academic First Team: 4.00 GPA
NJCAA All-Academic Second Team: 3.80-3.99 GPA
NJCAA All-Academic Third Team: 3.60-3.79 GPA

Ashlyn Castle (softball) and Easton Rhoney (baseball) were honored as members of the NJCAA All-Academic First Team. Zoey Boston (softball) and Jacob Bebber (baseball) earned NJCAA All-Academic Second Team honors. Juliana Aponte (softball), Kiara Dewy (softball), Mackenzie Johnson (softball), Scout Nichols (baseball), and Kaylee Redwine (softball) were NJCAA All-Academic Third Team honorees.

Nationwide, 2,852 student-athletes garnered NJCAA All-Academic First Team honors after achieving a 4.0 GPA. 3,322 student-athletes were named to the NJCAA All-Academic Second Team while 4,221 student-athletes received third team recognition.

For the Spring 2022 semester, eighteen student-athletes from Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute were honored by NJCAA Region 10 as All-Academic Team selections. To be named to the Region 10 All-Academic team, student-athletes must participate in a sport which competes during the spring semester (baseball, basketball, beach volleyball, golf, softball, tennis, and track and field) while achieving a 3.0 grade point average and passing at least 12 credit hours.

Caldwell’s baseball team had four student-athletes named to the Region 10 All-Academic team: Jacob Bebber, Kayle Ratliff, Easton Rhoney, and Dalton Stikeleather. Four members from the men’s basketball team were honored: Gilbert Brown, Amarie Elijah-Kirby, Nedas Nacickas, and Isaiah Pruett. Softball had ten selections: Lauren Anderson, Juliana Aponte, Zoey Boston, Ashlyn Castle, Kiara Dewey, Mackenzie Johnson, Kaylee Redwine, Abby Reeves, Kileigh Sechrist, and Christa Walsh.

The Spring 2022 semester was the largest All-Academic team in Region 10 history, with 824 student-athletes being named. Thirty-four schools were represented, and each spring sport had a selection.