skip to Main Content
Atkinson Leads L-R Men’s Tennis With Player Of The Year Honors
Rhodri Atkinson ears Lenoir-Rhyne's first ever South Atlantic Conference Player of the Year honors.
photo courtesy of Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Atkinson Leads L-R Men’s Tennis With Player of the Year Honors

The South Atlantic Conference announced its annual award winners for men’s tennis this morning and Lenoir-Rhyne’s Rhodri Atkinson became the first LR men’s player to be named SAC Player of the Year.

Atkinson went 11-2 in first singles, including a 10-1 mark in SAC play and 13-0 in first doubles. Atkinson, a junior from Gloucester, England, was named All-Conference First team in doubles and singles for the first time in his career as well.

Four other Bears received All-Conference nods including Josh Lazenby, Mauricio Hernandez, and Nicolas Moser.

Lazenby, a junior from Beverley, England, earned All-Conference 2nd team honors in singles and First Team All-Conference honors in doubles. The duo of Atkinson/Lazneby were ranked No. 10 in the country, the highest of any SAC pair.

Hernandez, a junior from Monterrey, Mexico, earned his second All-Conference nod with an Honorable Mention in doubles with his partner Nicolas Moser, a freshman from Austria.

2021 SAC Men’s Tennis Conference
First Team Doubles
Rhodri Atkinson / Josh Lazenby, Lenoir-Rhyne
Paolo Bompieri / Kasper Rolfsen, Queens
Edoardo Bottino / Edoardo Cecere, Queens

Second Team Doubles
Nemanja Subanovic / Frank Bonacia, Tusculum
Dmitry Bezborodov / Leon Huck, Tusculum
Josep Canyadell / Matthew Jones, Wingate

Honorable Mention Doubles
Juan Cruz Moncada / Thomas Pudney, Anderson
Maurcio Hernandez / Nicolas Moser, Lenoir-Rhyne
Jake Tuchmann / Iker Moure, Lincoln Memorial

First Team Singles
Rhodri Atkinson, Lenoir-Rhyne
Dmitry Bezborodov, Tusculum
Edoardo Bottino, Queens
Enrico Giacomini, Wingate
Marc Janse, Carson-Newman
Paolo Bompieri, Queens

Second Team Singles
Edoardo Cecere, Queens
Roy Stepanov, Wingate
Juan Cruz Moncada, Anderson
Nemanja Subanovic, Tusculum
Josh Lazenby, Lenoir-Rhyne
Frank Bonacia, Tusculum

Honorable Mention Singles
Leon Huck, Tusculum
Luis Zamorano, Limestone
Adam Kush, Anderson
Jake Tuchmann, Lincoln Memorial
Justus Lehmann, Coker
Thomas Pudney, Anderson

Player of the Year
Rhodri Atkinson, Lenoir-Rhyne

Freshman of the Year
Dmitry Bezborodov, Tusculum

Coach of the Year
Michael Cabana, Wingate