skip to Main Content
Oren Bost won by pinfall in two of his four matches in route to a championship at the 165-pound weight class.
photo courtesy of Appalachian State Athletics

Appalachian State Wrestling Hosts Appalachian Open

App State Wrestling produced eight finalists Saturday at the Appalachian Open, with weight-class titles being won by first-time tournament champions Ethan Oakley (133 pounds), Oren Bost (165 pounds) and Luke Uliano (174 pounds).

App State’s Cody Bond and freshman teammate Jeremiah Price both advanced to the 149 final, and no championship match was contested at that weight. The Mountaineers’ other finalists were Sean Carter (141), Anthony Conetta (157) and Carson Floyd (197).

Oakley, Bost and Uliano all went 4-0 on the day. Bost turned a 2-1 deficit into a 3-2 lead on a reversal with 43 seconds left against UNC’s Marcus Murabito and finished on top to secure a one-point victory. Bost had two pins and a semifinal tech fall in advance of the final.

Oakley used a first-period pin and a 9-0 major decision to reach the semifinal round, where he won a 6-2 decision against NC State’s Jacob Cox before winning by tech fall (15-0) against Gardner-Webb’s TK Davis in the final.

Uliano followed an opening-round pin with a 17-2 tech fall and 17-4 major decision to reach the final. He recorded the final two takedowns in a 10-4 decision against NC State’s Luke Ahrberg.

Floyd held a 6-5 lead going into the final 10 seconds of an 8-6 loss to NC State’s Christian Kemp in the 197 final, after he had won by fall and tech fall in his first two matches. Conetta and Carter, working back into form after a 2023 injury and competing for the first time at 141, lost by major decisions in their finals.

­­App State delivered one ranked win Saturday, as Kaden Keiser moved up to 149 pounds from 141 and reached a semifinal match against Price by defeating 20th-ranked Jayden Scott from North Carolina in overtime. With the match tied at 2-all following a Sudden Victory period, Keiser got the quicker escape and finished with more riding time following the two 30-second Tiebreaker-1 periods.

Third-place finishes for App State came from Jayden Dobeck (165) and Dalton Battle (184). Ethan Shell (133), Ike Byers (141) and Levi Andrews (heavyweight) placed fourth.

The 2023-24 season is presented by Hungry Howie’s and Penn Station.

App State Results:

133: Ethan Oakley (1st place)
Carson Clark, Chattanooga W, Fall 1:06
Caden Hagler, Virginia Tech W, MD 9-0
Jacob Cox, NC State W, Dec 6-2
TK Davis, Gardner-Webb W, TF 15-0
141: Riley Edwards
Jackson Sichelstiel, Davidson W, TF 17-0
Donovan Chavis, Virginia Tech L, Dec 9-8
Tyler Tracy, NC State W, Dec 11-6
Dayne Dalrymple, Chattanooga W, Dec 2-0
Hunter Mason, Virginia Tech L, Fall 0:40
141: Ike Byers (4th place)
Sam Sutton, Sunkist Club W, TF 19-2
Hunter Mason, Virginia Tech L, Dec 4-2
Luke Kunath, Raw Club W, Dec 5-2
Christopher Bacchioni, Virginia Tech W, Dec 8-5
Donovan Chavis, Virginia Tech W, Dec 8-4
Hunter Mason, Virginia Tech L, Dec 7-3
149: Cody Bond (Finalist)
Connor Alexander, North Carolina W, Dec 5-0
Carson DeRosier, The Citadel W, MD 16-6
Freddy Junko, VMI W, MD 12-0
Mac Church, Virginia Tech W, Dec 6-4
Jeremiah Price, App State NC
174: Luke Uliano (1st place)
Ryan Duffelmeyer, The Citadel W, Fall 1:55
Savoy New, Davidson W, TF 17-2
Kolton Clark, Virginia Tech W, MD 17-4
Luke Ahrberg, NC State W, Dec 10-4
197: Carson Floyd (2nd place)
Kendrick Curtis, Chattanooga W, TF 15-0
Dylan Smith, Davidson W, Fall 2:04
Christian Kemp, NC State L, Dec 8-6
125: Bryson Terrell
Jackson Baglio, NC State L, Dec 6-4
Marcus Wright, The Citadel W, Dec 6-4
Vincent Robinson, NC State L, TF 19-3
125: Colby McBride
#23 Jakob Camacho, NC State L, TF 20-5
Matt Rowland, Gardner-Webb W, Dec 7-6
Jackson Baglio, NC State L, Dec 9-5
133: Ethan Shell (4th place)
Logan Frazier, Virginia Tech L, Fall 2:20
Ty Porter, Gardner-Webb W, Fall 1:51
Caden Hagler, Virginia Tech W, MF
Logan Frazier, Virginia Tech W, Dec 5-3
Jacob Cox, NC State L, Dec 6-3
141: Aldo Hernandez
Luke Kunath, Raw Club W, Dec 6-3
Koy Buesgens, NC State L, MD 11-2
Dayne Dalrymple, Chattanooga L, Dec 4-1 (SV)
141: Sean Carter (2nd place)
Thomas Termini, The Citadel W, TF 19-3
Christopher Bacchioni, Virginia Tech W, Dec 7-2
Hunter Mason, Virginia Tech W, Dec 4-2
Koy Buesgens, NC State L, MD 12-3
149: Jeremiah Price (Finalist)
Timothy Dwyer, N/A W, Fall 0:26
Dillon Roman, The Citadel W, TF 16-1
Kaden Keiser, App State W, Dec 6-4
Cody Bond, App State NC
149: Kai O’Dell
Mac Church, Virginia Tech L, Fall 2:26
Trevor Kantor, NC State W, Dec 7-3
#20 Jayden Scott, North Carolina L, FOR
149: Kaden Keiser
Preston Walls, Virginia Tech W, TF 15-0
#20 Jayden Scott, North Carolina W, Dec 2-2 (TB-1)
Jeremiah Price, App State L, Dec 6-4
Tyler-Xavier McKnight, Davidson L, MD 14-6
157: Anthony Conetta (2nd place)
Joshua Ward, Gardner-Webb W, Fall 2:45
Zach Karagias, NC State W, Dec 14-7
Tanner Peake, Davidson W, Dec 4-1
Austin Paradice, Chattanooga L, MD 11-1
157: Nicholas Grizales
Drew Pepin, Gardner-Webb L, MD 11-1
Evan Glynos, VMI W, MD 11-1
Zach Karagias, NC State W, Fall 1:03
Aaron Faison, NC State W, Dec 5-4
Drew Pepin, Gardner-Webb L, TF 16-1
165: Oren Bost (1st place)
Hunter Jones, Gardner-Webb W, Fall 1:09
Aidan Lenz, The Citadel W, Fall 6:01
Omaury Alvarez, North Carolina W, TF 17-1
Marcus Murabito, North Carolina W, Dec 3-2
165: Drake Acklin
Marcus Murabito, North Carolina L, Inj. Def.
165: Alex Hopper
Omaury Alvarez, North Carolina L, Dec 5-1
Drake Acklin, App State W, FOR
Justin Hayes, The Citadel L, Fall 2:02
165: Jayden Dobeck (3rd place)
Matt Karagias, NC State W, Dec 6-2
Marcus Murabito, North Carolina L, Fall 4:59
Justin Hayes, The Citadel W, Fall 1:15
Omaury Alvarez, North Carolina W, Dec 2-1
174: Logan Eller
Jaden Hardrick, Davidson L, Dec 9-2
Savoy New, Davidson W, MD 15-5
Nolan O’Boyle, North Carolina L, MD 8-0
184: Dalton Battle (3rd place)
Sam Fisher, Virginia Tech L, TF 18-2
Joe Zovistoski, App State W, Dec 8-2
Micah Dicarlo, The Citadel W, MD 10-0
184: Joe Zovistoski
Brock Delsignore, NC State L, TF 19-3
Andrew Macchiavello, NC State W, Dec 9-5
Dalton Battle, App State L, Dec 8-2
197: Gunnar Pool
Jet Galbreath, The Citadel W, TF 15-0
Sonny Sasso, Virginia Tech L, Fall 4:11
Edison Flores, Gardner-Webb W, MD 11-3
Dylan Smith, Davidson L, MD 10-1
Hwt: James Bankston
Adam Honis, North Carolina W, MD 11-3
Chase Horne, NC State L, MD 8-0
Levi Andrews, App State L, Dec 8-1
Hwt: Levi Andrews (4th place)
Jimmy Mullen, Virginia Tech L, TF 19-4
Dominic Harris, Greensboro College W, Fall 2:03
James Bankston, App State W, Dec 8-1
Ethan Vergara, Chattanooga L, Dec 5-2