skip to Main Content
Maya Winterhoff
Maya Winterhoff was named the first App State volleyball to win Freshman of the Year honors since the Mountaineers joined the Sun Belt Conference.
photo courtesy of Appalachian State Athletics

Appalachian State Volleyball Earns All-Conference Honors, Including Freshman of the Year

App State freshman Maya Winterhoff was named Sun Belt Freshman of the Year and nabbed Second-Team All-SBC honors alongside senior McCall Denny, the league announced Tuesday. Winterhoff is the first Mountaineer to earn the Freshman of the Year accolade since App State joined the conference in 2014.

Winterhoff holds the team-high in aces (35) as well as blocks (98). She also stands third in the team standings for kills, tallying 244. Winterhoff earned her first career double-double on Oct. 14 at ULM with 10 kills and 11 digs. The Charlottesville, Va. native ranks 38th nationally in hitting percentage (.374) and ranks sixth in hitting percentage against SBC opponents (.331). The middle blocker ranked second in hitting percentage (.331), third in kills per set (2.16), third in aces (0.34), and third in points per set (2.98) among the league’s freshmen for conference play. Winterhoff has started all 27 matches and appeared in all 109 sets this fall.

Denny has posted 11 double-doubles on the year and leads the team in kills (329). She also has the second-most digs on the team (248) and second-most aces (31). The High Point, N.C. native recorded a single-match season of high 20 kills and 19 digs against Georgia Southern on Nov. 11. The six-rotation player has started all 27 matches and played in all 109 sets this season.

App State will face Louisiana on Thursday at 8:30 p.m. ET (7:30 p.m. CT) in the second round of the SBC Tournament in Foley, Ala.

2022-23 Sun Belt Conference Volleyball Postseason Awards
Sun Belt Player of the Year
Emily DeWalt, Texas State

Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Year
Janell Fitzgerald, Texas State

Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Year
Sophie Davis, James Madison

Sun Belt Setter of the Year
Emily DeWalt, Texas State

Sun Belt Libero of the Year
Rachel Hickey, South Alabama

Sun Belt Newcomer of the Year
Emily Jarome, Georgia Southern

Sun Belt Freshman of the Year
Maya Winterhoff, App State

Sun Belt Coach of the Year
Lauren Steinbrecher, James Madison

First Team All-Sun Belt
Ella Saada, Coastal Carolina
Emily Jarome, Georgia Southern
Sophie Davis, James Madison
Miëtte Veldman, James Madison
Myah Conway, Old Dominion
Rachel Hickey, South Alabama
Hannah Maddux, South Alabama
Mia Wesley, Southern Miss
Emily DeWalt, Texas State
Janell Fitzgerald, Texas State
Amara Anderson, Troy
Tori Hester, Troy

Second Team All-Sun Belt
McCall Denny, App State
Maya Winterhoff, App State
Lina Perugini, Coastal Carolina
Caroline Dozier, James Madison
Cami Hicks, Louisiana
Lydia Montague, Marshall
Niki Capizzi, South Alabama
Kailey Keeble, South Alabama
Cara Atkinson, Southern Miss
Jada Gardner, Texas State
Lauren Teske, Texas State
Julia Brooks, Troy