skip to Main Content
Appalachian State Track And Field Teams Compete At Seahawk Teal Invitational

Appalachian State Track and Field Teams Compete at Seahawk Teal Invitational

App State women’s outdoor track & field won five events at the season opening Wendy’s Seahawk Teal Invitational on Saturday.

The 4×100-meter relay tandem of Taylor Smith, Jessica Dixon, Maya Hanks and LaBria King won the event in 46.73 seconds. The team of Jelonnie Smith, Samara Gibson, Ani Judd and Nevaeh Haddock finished right behind in second with a time of 47.27 seconds.

Dixon won the 400-meter dash in 56.37 seconds, with Jelonnie Smith right behind in second place with a time of 57.03 seconds. Dixon added another victory in the 200-meter dash with a time of 24.94 seconds, with Taylor Smith finishing second in 25.27 seconds.

App State also took the top two spots in the 1,500-meter run. Jasmine Donohue crossed first in 4:44.19 and Bianca Copeman was right behind in second with a time of 4:57.05. Donohue also registered a third-place finish in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:17.18.

In the 100-meter dash, LaBria King finished first with a time of 12.04 seconds. Samara Gibson posted a second-place finish in a time of 12.26 seconds.

Madison McCoy took third in the hammer throw with a PR mark of 161-05 (49.21m). Her mark also places eighth all-time in the event in program history.

The Black and Gold placed two in the top three in the long jump. Taylor Smith placed second, covering 18-7.00 (5.66m) and Djamila Petersen finished third with a mark of 18-0.25 (5.49m).

Breah Taylor was second in the triple jump, covering 38-0.00 (11.58m), while Maya Hanks was third with a mark of 37-11.50.

The pole vault saw Celia Agee place second with a mark of 12-0.00 (3.66m) and Casey Meinert finish third with a mark of 11-0.25 (3.36m).

App State will compete next weekend at both the 49er Classic in Charlotte and the Bill Webb Combined Events Classic at High Point.

App State men’s track & field made a strong showing to open the 2021 outdoor season by winning 10 events at the Wendy’s Seahawk Teal Invitational on Saturday.

App State posted a strong effort in the 1,500-meter run, capturing the top four spots. Ryan Brown placed first with a time of 3:54.98, Dwayne Lillie was second in 3:57.87, Gable Dershem crossed third in 3:59.67 and Michael Flanagan was fourth with a time of 3:59.81.

The Mountaineers also claimed the top-three spots in the 5,000-meter run. Isaac Benz crossed first in 14:32.27, Ethan Barber was second with a time of 14:58.02 and Calbert Guest placed third in 15:16.38.

The Black and Gold also took the top four spots in the discus. Chrystian Smith won the event with a toss of 155-06 (47.41m), Nathan Karl was second covering 153-03 (46.72m), Jacob Soorus placed third with a distance of 144-03 (43.98m) and Zachary Weinstein was fourth with a mark of 133-07 (40.72m).

Karl won the shot put with a toss covering 50-0.25 (15.25m). Soorus was right behind in second place with a mark of 49-0.25 (14.94m). Soorus registered another second-place finish in the javelin with a mark of 175-.00 (53.33m), which ranks eighth all-time.

Jordan Johnson won the long jump with a leap covering 24-1.50 (7.35m), with Eric Haddock Jr. placing second with a mark of 22-3.50. Johnson’s mark sits seventh in program history.

The triple jump saw Joshua Green claim first place with a leap of 46-2.75 (14.09m).

Jabari Johnson posted a time of 10.74 seconds to capture the 100-meter dash. Jordan Johnson placed third in the event with a time of 10.96 seconds.

Joshua Hairston won the 800-meter run in 1:55.69 and Yates Hall captured the high jump, clearing 6-4.00 (1.93m).

The pole vault saw Taylor Fox clear 14-5.50 (4.41m) to finish first and Braden Underwood post a mark of 13-11.75 (4.26m) to finish second.

In the hammer, Weinsten was second with a mark of 151-09 (48.48m) and Smith was third with a toss of 145-06 (44.35m). Cole Krehnbrink was second in the 400-meter dash with a time of 49.62 seconds.

The Mountaineers will compete again next weekend at the 49er Invitational and the Bill Webb Combined Events Classic.