skip to Main Content
From left to right: Nicole Wells, Addison Ollendick-Smith, Rhys Ammon, and Jasmine Donohue. Wells will be participating in the U20 Championships.
photo courtesy of Sun Belt Conference

Appalachian State Track and Field Has Two to Compete at U20 Championship

App State freshman sprinters Kendall Johnson and Nicole Wells will compete at the USATF U20 Championships in Eugene, Ore., on Wednesday and Thursday. The meet will be available to stream on USATF.TV.

Johnson and Wells will compete in the women’s 100 meters and women’s 200 meters. The first round of the women’s 100 meters is slated for a 3:52 p.m. PT start (6:52 p.m. ET) on Wednesday, with the finals to follow at 5:38 p.m. PT (8:38 p.m. ET). The first round of the women’s 200 meters is slated for 4:20 p.m. PT (7:20 p.m. ET) on Thursday, with the finals to follow at 6:12 p.m. PT (9:12 p.m. ET).

In her freshman season with the Mountaineers, Johnson rose to sixth on the App State all-time list for the women’s 100 meters with a time of 11.61 seconds, which she recorded on April 27 at the App State Open, placing second overall in the event. Johnson also recorded a personal-best 24.36 in the 200 to round out the top 20 at the Duke Invitational in mid-April. The Raleigh, N.C., native was part of the 4×100-meter relay team that clocked a time of 44.85 to place first at the App State Open as well as the 4×100-meter relay team that placed fourth with a time of 44.95 at the Sun Belt Outdoor Championships in May.

Wells ranks ninth on the App State all-time list in both the women’s 100 meters and women’s 200 meters. The Sumter, S.C., native recorded a personal-best 11.70 to place third in the women’s 100 meters at the App State Open. She stopped the clock at 24.27 for a personal best in the women’s 200 meters at the Duke Invitational, finishing 17th overall. Wells also earned second-team All-Sun Belt honors after helping the Mountaineers to a silver finish in the women’s 4×400-meter relay with a school-record time of 3:40.01 at the Sun Belt Outdoor Championships in May.

{Information provided by Appalachian State Athletics}