skip to Main Content
Donovan Gregory
Donovan Gregory led the Mountaineers with 12 points.
photo courtesy of Appalachian State Athletics

Appalachian State Men’s Basketball Picked Seventh, Gregory Earns All-Conference

App State senior forward Donovan Gregory has been named preseason second-team All-Sun Belt, the league announced on Monday.

Gregory is coming off a season in which he played in all 34 games, making 32 starts. In 30 minutes per game, he finished second on the team in points (10.9), rebounds (5.8) and assists (2.8) while pacing the team in steals with 1.3. Each of these averages were in the top 20 of the Sun Belt Conference.

“Donovan is very deserving to be recognized as preseason All-Sun Belt,” head coach Dustin Kerns said. “He is a Swiss army knife of a player that can literally do everything. He is a great scorer and impressive defender who can play and defend so many different positions. His versatility is a huge strength for us and I am very happy for him and the work he has put in.”

In his career, Gregory has recorded 175 assists to just 100 turnovers. In Sun Belt play last year, the Charlotte native had an impressive AST/TO ratio of 2, assisting 62 field goals in 18 conference games. He also finished in the top 15 in Sun Belt scoring, tallying 370 points, the most in his career.

“He is literally going to be all over the court,” Kerns said about Gregory this upcoming season.

Gregory has helped App State to three consecutive winning seasons and two straight national postseason tournament appearances, winning 19 games last year, the most since the 2009-10 season.

“My coaches and teammates have confidence in me to go out and make plays for the team,” Gregory said at Media Day.

The Mountaineers were picked seventh in the preseason coaches poll.

Gregory and the Mountaineers open the 2022-23 season at home against Warren Wilson on Nov. 7.


2022-23 Sun Belt Men’s Basketball Preseason Player of the Year
Jordan Brown, Louisiana (Jr., F, Roseville, Calif.)

2022-23 Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference

First Team
Jordan Brown, Louisiana
Mason Harrell, Texas State
Taevion Kinsey, Marshall
Vado Morse, James Madison
Kevin Samuel, South Alabama

Second Team
Donovan Gregory, App State
Felipe Haase, Southern Miss
Kobe Julien, Louisiana
Essam Mostafa, Coastal Carolina
Greg Parham II, South Alabama

Third Team
Kamdyn Curfman, Marshall
Caleb Fields, Arkansas State
Nika Metskhvarishvili, ULM
Andrew Taylor, Marshall
Zay Williams, Troy