skip to Main Content
Victory Yosef

Appalachian State Football Earns Early Preseason Accolades From Phil Steele, Athlon

App State had 14 players named to the preseason All-Sun Belt teams released by Phil Steele, highlighted by four first-team selections. Athlon Sports also had 14 preseason selections from the Mountaineers, including six first-team selections.


Moving forward from a 9-5 season under the direction of head coach Shawn Clark, the Mountaineers return 51 players who appeared in at least one game last year. The preseason first-team selections from Phil Steele were wide receiver Kaedin Robinson and tight end Eli Wilson from the offense, along with pass-rushing standout Nate Johnson and cornerback Ethan Johnson from the defense.

Five players were included on the second team: quarterback Joey Aguilar, running back Kanye Roberts, safety Jordan Favors, kicker Michael Hughes and long snapper Christian Johnstone.

Defensive lineman Santana Hopper, linebacker Caden Sullivan and offensive lineman Thomas Shrader (a newcomer from Florida State) made the third team, while receiver Dalton Stroman and defensive end Shawn Collins were included on the fourth team.


Roberts and Favors joined Robinson, Wilson and the two Johnsons as first-team picks from Athlon.

Aguilar and wide receiver Christan Horn were included on the second team, along with Hopper and Hughes. Defensive lineman Michael Fletcher received fourth-team recognition along with Sullivan, Shrader and Robinson (as a punt returner).

{Information provided by Appalachian State Athletics}