skip to Main Content
Amundsen and Kirchoff
Annie Amundsen (L) and Caleb Kirchoff (R).
photos courtesy of Appalachian State Athletics

Appalachian State Cross Country Sweeps Conference Runner fo the Week Awards

Junior Annie Amundsen and senior Caleb Kirchhoff were named the Sun Belt Cross Country Women’s and Men’s Runners of the Week, the league announced Wednesday.

Amundsen set pace for the Mountaineers in the women’s 5K at the Wildcat Invite, hosted by Johnson & Wales in Charlotte, N.C. on Oct. 21. The Naperville, Ill. native clocked a time of 18:48.7, placing second overall. Amundsen’s time helped the women’s squad to a first-place team finish with 24 points.

Kirchhoff led the Mountaineer men to a first-place team finish with 31 points in the men’s 8K at the Wildcat Invite. The Indian Trail, N.C. native stopped the clock at 25:36.6 to finish sixth individually.

The Mountaineers are set for the Sun Belt Cross Country Championships on Saturday, Oct. 29, in Foley, Ala. The women’s 5K is scheduled for 10 a.m. CT (11 a.m. ET) and the men’s 8K will follow at 11 a.m. CT (12 p.m. ET). The meet will be broadcasted on ESPN+ and live results will be available.