skip to Main Content
CJ Boyd
In an amazing ending to the season, CJ Boyd finished the season on a 19-game hitting streak, ending his year with a .363 batting average while tying the App State single-season record with 17 home runs.
photo courtesy of Appalachian State Athletics

Appalachian State Baseball Falls to Louisiana-Monroe

Despite a strong start from Bradley Wilson, ULM rallied past App State, 3-2, Saturday, winning both games in an abbreviated series. The finale of the three-game set was canceled due to Sun Belt start time regulations.

Wilson allowed just one hit through his first five innings of work. For the second consecutive Saturday he matched a career-high with six strikeouts. After a leadoff double began the ballgame for ULM, Wilson proceeded to strike out the side in the first inning, and went on to retire six consecutive batters, and 11 of the next 12 that he faced.

Wilson ultimately went 5.2 innings, giving up a run on three hits, walked three, and struck out six.

App State (16-13, 6-5) built up a lead behind him. Andrew Terrell led off the third inning with a double, and later in the inning, he came into score on a Luke Drumheller RBI single to take a 1-0 lead.

Then in the fourth, Golston Gillespie doubled to the wall in center field to begin the inning, and after advancing to third on a Braxton Church single, came into score on a wild pitch to make it 2-0.

In the top of the sixth inning, Shawn Dalton Weatherbee hit an opposite field home run in the sixth inning, and two batters later Wilson was pulled in favor of Skylar Brooks. During the pitching change, rain intensified, and the umpires halted play for 40 minutes.

Following the delay, the Warhawks jumped in front in the seventh inning. After back-to-back walks and a sacrifice bunt put two in scoring position, Zack Floyd delivered a two-run double to put ULM in front 3-2.

Collin Welch and Jackson Steensma combined to deliver 2.2 scoreless innings to finish the ballgame.

App State returns to action against No. 2 Wake Forest on Tuesday at 6 p.m. at Smith Stadium. The game will be broadcast on ESPN+.