skip to Main Content

App State Women’s Basketball Finds Out Sun Belt Schedule

The Sun Belt Conference announced the 2022-23 women’s basketball league schedule on Wednesday. Each team is slated for 18 games, nine on the road and nine at home. Games will follow a Thursday – Saturday format with the exception of the final two conference games, which are scheduled for Wednesday, Feb. 22 and Friday, Feb. 24.

App State will be home for the holidays as it opens conference play with newly minted SBC members Old Dominion and Marshall. The Mountaineers will take on ODU on Dec. 29 before ringing in the new year with The Herd on Dec. 31.

Traveling to Texas, Arkansas, Virginia, and Georgia for the next four games, the Mountaineers will challenge Texas State (Jan. 5), Arkansas State (Jan. 7), James Madison (Jan. 12), and Georgia Southern (Jan. 14). App State will return home to host new SBC opponent Southern Miss on Jan. 19 and familiar foe Coastal Carolina on Jan. 21, before visiting Georgia State in Atlanta on Jan. 26. The Black and Gold will wrap the month’s action on Jan. 28 with a home contest against Louisiana, which will also be a doubleheader with the men’s program.

The Mountaineers will hit the road again in February, visiting Marshall (Feb. 2) in West Virginia and Coastal Carolina (Feb. 4) in South Carolina before they return to the High Country to take on Georgia State (Feb. 9) and Georgia Southern (Feb. 11). App State’s final regular season road trip will be to visit Old Dominion’s realm in Virginia on Feb. 16 and to clash with Troy in Alabama on Feb. 18. App State will cap regular season action on its home court, hosting JMU (Feb. 22) and ULM (Feb. 24).

The Sun Belt Championships are scheduled for Feb. 28 – March 6 at the Pensacola Bay Center in Pensacola, Fla. All 14 teams will qualify for the tournament, with the champions punching their tickets to the NCAA Tournament.

Non-conference dates and game times for the entire 2022-23 schedule will be announced at a later date.

App State Conference Schedule
Dec. 29 Old Dominion
Dec. 31 Marshall
Jan. 5 at Texas State
Jan. 7 at Arkansas State
Jan. 12 at James Madison
Jan. 14 at Georgia Southern
Jan. 19 Southern Miss
Jan. 21 Coastal Carolina
Jan. 26 at Georgia State
Jan. 28 Louisiana
Feb. 2 at Marshall
Feb. 4 at Coastal Carolina
Feb. 9 Georgia State
Feb. 11 Georgia Southern
Feb. 16 at Old Dominion
Feb. 18 at Troy
Feb. 22 James Madison
Feb. 24 ULM