skip to Main Content
App State Track And Field Competes At Sun Belt Conference Tournament

App State Track and Field Competes at Sun Belt Conference Tournament

The App State men’s and women’s track and field team opened competition at the Sun Belt Outdoor Championships in Lafayette, La. on Thursday with five Mountaineers advancing to three event finals, which are scheduled for Saturday. At the close of the first day of competition, the men’s team scored three points and is tied for seventh with Coastal Carolina. The women’s team has yet to score.

Sophomore Jasmine Donohue and graduate student Macki Walsh qualified for the women’s 1500-meter final after winning both sections of the preliminary heats. Donohue clocked a time of 4:33.44 to take first overall and Walsh stopped the clock at 4:40.44 to place fifth overall. The women’s 1500-meter final is slated for 4:15 p.m. CT (5:15 p.m. ET) on Saturday.

In the men’s 1500-meter preliminary heats, senior Isaac Benz clocked a time of 3:57.42 to place sixth in his heat and overall. Benz’s time qualified him for the final, which is scheduled for 4:25 p.m. CT (5:25 p.m. ET) on Saturday. Sophomore Jabari Dalton and senior Dylan Blankenship qualified for the men’s 400-meter hurdles championship race after clocking times of 53.97 and 54.30 to finish seventh and eighth, respectively. The final for the men’s 400-meter hurdles is set for 5:45 p.m. CT (6:45 p.m. ET) on Saturday.

Junior Oliver Wilson-Cook closed out the day’s competition with the men’s 10,000-meter final. Wilson-Cook stopped the clock at 31:32.89 to place sixth overall and scored three points for the Mountaineers.

Competition at the Sun Belt Outdoor Championships resumes Friday with the continuation of the decathlon at 9 a.m. CT (10 a.m. ET). The first field event will be the women’s long jump at 12:30 p.m. CT (1:30 p.m. ET) and the first track event will be the preliminary heats of the women’s 100-meter hurdles at 5 p.m. CT (6 p.m. ET). The meet will be broadcasted on ESPN+.