skip to Main Content
Alexander County Sheriff’s Office Honored For Drug Operation
Alexander County Sheriff Chris Bowman displays award presented by U.S. Attorney's Office
Courtesy of Alexander County Sheriff's Office

Alexander County Sheriff’s Office Honored For Drug Operation

Two narcotics detectives with the Alexander County Sheriff’s Office, whose names are not being released for their protection, received glass plaques commemorating their service in a drug law enforcement operation. On February 8, 2022, investigators with the Alexander County Sheriff’s Office Narcotics unit were awarded by the United States Attorney’s Office for their participation in “Operation Dixie Crystal,” Sheriff Chris Bowman announced this week.

According to the U.S. Attorney’s Office in the Western District of North Carolina, since 2015, Operation Dixie Crystal has resulted in the arrest of more than 200 defendants, seizures of more than 200 kilograms of methamphetamine with a street value of approximately $20 million, over $2 million in drug proceeds, and more than 60 firearms.

Out of the many individuals arrested throughout this operation, more than 40 individuals of the 200 convicted persons resided in or were directly involved in the distribution of methamphetamine in Alexander County. The Alexander County Sheriff’s Office seized numerous vehicles and large amounts of U.S. currency during this operation.

Officers said that the meth is mainly from Mexico, where it is made is large quantities. This has overtaken the meth labs which had been often found in this area in the past. The drug comes from Mexico via California or from Georgia. Some is even directly mailed to North Carolina in packages.

Sheriff Bowman and his officers have participated in the Homeland Security Investigations (HSI) Drug Task Force program since 2015. Officers with over a dozen other agencies took part in the Task Force, including: N.C. State Bureau of Investigation, Ashe County Sheriff’s Office, Boone Police Department, Caldwell County Sheriff’s Office, Catawba County Sheriff’s Office, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police, Cleveland County Sheriff’s Office, Hickory Police Department, Huntersville Police Department, Iredell County Sheriff’s Office, Lenoir Police Department, and Mooresville Police Department.