skip to Main Content
2021 Greater Hickory Metro Election Results

2021 Greater Hickory Metro Election Results

2021 Election Winners

Catawba County- Contested Races

Town of Brookford Board of Alderman

Kevin Gregory-36.13%
Charles Barglsey, Jr- 34.45%

Catawba Town Council

Duane McCombs- 33.68%
Patrick H. Laney- 28.42%
(Jeff Hendren finished third by one vote, receiving 27.89%)

City of Claremont Mayor

Shawn R. Brown- 61.90%

Conover City Council Full Term

Brenda Powell- 27.71%
Mark Canrobert- 27.39%
Joie Fulbright- 27.39%
(Canrobert and Fulbright finished with the same vote total, tying for the second spot)

Conover City Council Unexpired Term

Jim Green- 38.53%

Maiden Town Council

Cameron D. Ramseur- 19.40%
Danny Hipps- 17.82%
Holly Crafton-Lay- 16.45%

Newton City Council

Roy Johnson- 21.80%
Ed Sain- 21.59%
John Stiver- 20.72%

Hickory Board of Education

Ward 1- Amanda McGuire- 78.35%
Ward 5- Keyhisa Hannah- 63.16%

Newton-Conover Schools Board of Education

Conover District- Robbie Gonzales- 61.27%
Newton District- Tim Hayes- 32.10%
Phil Heath- 22.50%


Catawba County voter turnout- 11.28%


Burke County- Contested Races

Town of Connelly Springs Mayor

Dennis F. Seagle- 62.16%

Town of Hildebran Mayor

Wendell Hildebrand- 55.66%

Town of Valdese Mayor

Charles Watts- 47.31%

Burke County Board Of Education

Central District- Tiana Sims- 54.26%
Eastern District- Leslie Ritchie Taylor- 54.68%
Western District- Aaron Johnson- 28.02%
Jane Sohovich- 17.29% (Seth Hunt finished third by less than 1%)


Burke County Voter Turnout- 17.15%


Caldwell County Contested Races

Lenoir City Council

Crissy Thomas- 20.74%
Jonathan T. Beal- 19.04%
James (Ike) Perkins- 18.75%
David F. Stevens- 18.64%

Sawmills Mayor

Johnnie Greene- 54.96%

Town of Hudson Commissioners

Rick J. Shew- 28.27%
Jim Engelman- 26.12%
Barry Mitchell- 25.34%

Gamewell Town Council

Mike Kent- 30.62%
John Hall- 26.74%
Wilford Beane- 24.42%

Caldwell County Voter Turnout- 8.34%