whky tv and talk radio hickory, nc





Bookmark and Share




 prn affiliates 13 468x60



Camping World Truck Series:
Sat 10/25: Martinsville Speedway, Kroger 200, 1pm, MRN

Sprint Cup Series:
Sun 10/26: Martinsville Speedway, Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500 powered by Kroger, 12:30pm, MRN


Monday: Fast Talk, 7-8pm

Tuesday: NASCAR Live, 7-8pm

Wednesday: The Pit Reporters, 7-8pm

Monday-Friday: NASCAR Today, 6:50pm

Monday-Friday: Garage Pass, 8:30pm

NASCAR News (all content provided by John Singler, MRN Radio)

Michigan International Speedway is continuing its partnership with the Michigan Economic Development Corporation to sponsor the track’s annual summer Sprint Cup Series race for 2015 … with an option to extend the contract for two additional one-year terms. Next year’s Pure Michigan 400 is scheduled for Sunday, August 16th … marking the fifth year of sponsorship. The Pure Michigan brand represents business, talent and tourism initiatives across the state. The Michigan Economic Development Corporation serves as the state’s marketing arm and lead advocate for business growth, jobs and opportunity with a focus on helping grow Michigan’s economy.

SPRINT CUP SERIES POWER RANKINGS: Brad Keselowski has climbed to the top of this week’s Motor Racing Network Power Rankings following his series-leading sixth win of the season Sunday at Talladega Superspeedway that propelled him into the Eliminator Round of the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. Joey Logano is second in this week’s Rankings, giving Team Penske the top two spots. Kevin Harvick, Jeff Gordon and Ryan Newman make up the rest of the top five. (For a complete list, visit http://bit.ly/1t48nu9 at MRN.com)

► Timothy Peters drives the Number-17 Red Horse Racing Toyota in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. His crew chief is Marcus Richmond.
► Peters (Providence, North Carolina) is coming off his first victory of the 2014 season, last weekend at Talladega Superspeedway. He led thirty-one of the last thirty-seven laps in snapping a twenty-two-race winless streak that stretched back to September 2013.
► The victory lifted Peters into seventh place in the standings with four races remaining. He’s thirteen points outside the top five and trails leader Matt Crafton by ninety-five.
► Peters (34) is headed to what he considers his “home track,” Martinsville Speedway, for Saturday afternoon’s Kroger 200. His hometown of Providence, North Carolina, sits about thirty-five miles southeast of the Virginia half-mile – where he notched his first career win in 2009.
► Peters began his racing career in the World Karting Association, where he won ten national championships. He bested Denny Hamlin to win the 2004 South Boston (Va.) Speedway Late Model championship.
► This is Peters’ sixth full season in the Truck Series, all of which have been spent at Red Horse Racing.

NASCAR Hall of Famer Richard Petty will give the command to start engines for Sunday’s Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500 in his role as Grand Marshal at Martinsville Speedway. Petty is the track’s all-time leader in Cup Series race wins with fifteen including four straight victories in the fall race from 1967 through 1970 … Mixed martial arts star Miesha Tate will wave the green flag as Honorary Starter … Sunday’s race is the opening event of the three-week Eliminator Round of the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.

October 22nd, 2006: Jimmie Johnson notched his fifth victory of the season, winning the Subway 500 at Martinsville Speedway. It kicked off a run of five victories in six starts on the Virginia half-mile for Johnson and helped propel him to the first of his record five straight Sprint Cup Series championships. Johnson will be watching this year’s title fight from outside the Chase after his elimination last weekend at Talladega.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Sun 11/2: Texas Motor Speedway, AAA Texas 500, 2pm, PRN
Sun 11/9: Phoenix Int'l Raceway, Sprint Cup 500, 2pm MRN
Sun 11/16: Homestead-Miami Speedway, Ford EcoBoost 400, 2pm, MRN

NASCAR Nationwide Series

Sat 11/1: Texas Motor Speedway, O'Reilly Challenge, 3pm, PRN
Sat 11/8: Phoenix Int'l Raceway, Nationwide 200, 3:30pm, MRN
Sat 11/15: Homestead-Miami Speedway, Ford EcoBoost 300, 4pm, MRN

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

Indy Car Series