whky tv and talk radio hickory, nc




Thursday, 05 June 2014 07:07

Catawba County Schools Announces Five New Principals; Two Other Assignments

The Catawba County Schools Board of Education approved the appointment of five new principals and two district-level support personnel at its June 2 meeting. The changes will be effective July 1.

Nichole Richardson Ijames will be the new principal at Snow Creek Elementary School. She is currently assistant principal at Tuttle Elementary School. She replaces Dr. Walter Zahler, who is retiring.

Dr. Robin A. Honeycutt has been appointed as the new principal at Banoak Elementary School. Dr. Honeycutt is currently the Director of Student Information & Data Services for the district and previously served as principal at Oxford Elementary School. He replaces Kathy Keane, who has taken a position at a private school.

Laura Marie Ingenito will be the new principal at Tuttle Elementary School. Ingenito has served as assistant principal at Clyde Campbell Elementary School for the past six years and at Balls Creek prior to that. Ingenito replaces DeAnna Finger, who has accepted a position as director of federal programs and student services for Lincoln County Schools.

Rita Lail has been appointed as principal at Balls Creek Elementary School. Lail’s public school experience includes two years as assistant principal at Blackburn Elementary School and 22 years of teaching experience. Lail replaces Lisa Thompson, who has accepted a principalship in McDowell County.

Angela Blackstock Garcia will be the new principal at Lyle Creek Elementary. Currently, Garcia serves as the Assistant Principal at St. Stephens Elementary School. She will replace Sharon Harwood, who has accepted a position with Catawba County Schools’ new COMPASS Academy.

In addition to the five principal assignments, the School Board accepted Superintendent Dr. Dan Brigman’s recommendations for two district-level positions.

Deborah Ferguson will serve as Director of Before- and After-School Programs. She is a former Head Start Director in Alexander County and also has experience as the Director of Before- and After-School Programs in Caldwell County Schools.

Dwayne Finger was appointed as Director of Safety, Facilities & Athletics. Finger is the current principal at Maiden High School.

The position at Maiden High School will be posted.

Read 841 times